Friday 1 February 2013 

Taylor And Ellis Return For England Visit

Taylor And Ellis Return For England Visit
Taylor And Ellis Return For England Visit
© REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanwatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images

New Zealand have kept faith with the limited-overs squads that provided a modicum of success on their otherwise disappointing tour of South Africa. Largely the same groups of players will do battle in three Twenty20 Internationals and three One-Day Internationals against England, which begin on 9th February in Auckland.

The only changes are the returns of deposed captain Ross Taylor and all-rounder Andrew Ellis, who missed the South Africa series because of injury. Otago opener Hamish Rutherford has also been included in the T20 squad following a successful HRV Cup campaign for the Volts.

Mike Hesson, the New Zealand coach, said: "Andrew proved his worth with the team last summer, while Ross is a world-class batsman who is a key part of this Blackcaps side. Hamish has shown he is an explosive batsman and we hope he can bring that form to the Blackcaps."

Neither Tim Southee nor Corey Anderson have yet recovered from their respective injuries so were not considered for selection.

Kim Littlejohn, the general manager, national selection, said: "There are a couple of changes that have been forced through injury but essentially we want to be seen to provide continuity from one series to the next. We are however looking at developing talented youngsters and finding a new crop of all-rounders in our build-up to the Champions Trophy in June and the 2015 World Cup."

Twenty20 squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Trent Boult, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Roneel Hira, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Colin Munro, Hamish Rutherford, Ross Taylor.

ODI squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

More from Cricket World


Play Suspended In Sharjah

27 November 2014
Moeen Ali & Ben Stokes celebrate

Moeen Stars In Warm-Up Win

21 November 2014