Theron & Kleinveldt Make South Africa ICC WT20 Squad

Theron & Kleinveldt Make South Africa ICC WT20 Squad
Theron & Kleinveldt Make South Africa ICC WT20 Squad
©REUTERS/Tyrone Siu (CHINA SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Uncapped pace bowler Juan Theron and all-rounder Rory Kleinveldt have been picked in South Africa's 15-man ICC World Twenty20 squad.

Theron was the only uncapped player to be included when the squad was trimmed to 18 members and has since impressed playing for the Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League.

Kleinveldt made his one Twenty20 International appearance against Bangladesh in 2008 but he will add cover for injured pair Wayne Parnell and Justin Kemp, who were not considered.

Graeme Smith, who fractured a finger during the IPL, is fit to take his place and lead the squad in the Caribbean, where they will meet India on 2nd May and Afghanistan on 5th May.

“I am delighted that we have Graeme Smith back from injury to lead us in this campaign,” coach Corrie van Zyl said.

“At the same time it is sad to lose players of the calibre of Wayne Parnell and Justin Kemp.

“Rory Kleinveldt will be a good like for like replacement for Parnell. He is capable of opening the bowling or operating at first change and he has also been a regular death bowler for the Cobras which is an important area for us.

“Rory also gives us some good batting options down the order,” he added.

“Rusty Theron has impressed everybody both with his skills and his temperament both in domestic cricket and in the Indian Premier League. He was a key player for the Warriors in doing the domestic limited overs double."

South Africa ICC WT20 squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Jacques Kallis (vice-captain), Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Juan Theron, Roelof van der Merwe

© Cricket World 2010