Women's World Cup

PNG Women win opener against Samoa

Papua New Guinea Women beat hosts Samoa Women by six wickets in the opening game of the 2016 ICC East-Asia Pacific Women's Cricket World Cup Qualifier.
15 July 2016

Netherlands name squad for start of Women's World Cup qualification bid

Netherlands Women have named a 14-strong squad for a three-match series of one-day matches against Scotland, the winner of which will qualify for the 2016 ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier.
22 June 2016

Squads named for 2016 Women's World Cup East-Asia Pacific qualifier

The three teams competing from the ICC East-Asia Pacific region to earn a place in the 2016 Women's World Cup Qualifier have named their squads for the regional qualifier that gets underway on 15th July.
21 June 2016

ECB confirms Women's World Cup 2017 venues

Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Leicestershire, Lord's, and Somerset will be the host venues for the ICC Women's World Cup 2017, the England and Wales Cricket Board have confirmed.
8 February 2016

Edwards delighted with 'incredible' ICC investment in women's cricket

England captain Charlotte Edwards and her employers, the England and Wales Cricket Board, are delighted that the International Cricket Council are furthering the development of women's cricket.
13 October 2015

10 Women Earn New Zealand Contracts

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) have confirmed the 10 women who will receive central contracts after they were introduced for the 2014-15 season.
23 July 2014

Interview: Clare Connor Talks Kia Sponsorship, English Summer & Women's Championship

On the day that England and Kia Motors (UK) announced a ground-breaking partnership agreement, Clare Connor talks to Cricket World about all things women's cricket.
14 July 2014

ECB Awards 18 Women Contracts

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has selected 18 players from the England Women's Performance Programme to be awarded new contracts.
6 May 2014

Australia Clinch Sixth Women's World Cup Title

Once, twice, thrice, four times, five times and now six times Australia Women have been crowned world champions after clinching the 2013 World Cup tournament with their most dominant performance yet, hammering the West Indies by 114 runs in Mumbai. They first scored more runs than had ever been managed in a World Cup final, hitting 259 for seven, and then outclassed the first-time finalists in the field, bowling them out for 145.
17 February 2013

Edwards Leads England To Third Place Finish

England captain Charlotte Edwards became just the third woman to reach eight One-Day International centuries as she led her side to a third-place finish at the Women's World Cup in Mumbai. Edwards warded off a late flurry of wickets with an unbeaten 106 as England closed on 222 for six in reply to New Zealand's total of 220 for eight.
15 February 2013

Siriwardene Seals Sri Lanka's Personal Best

Sri Lanka Women ended their World Cup campaign on a high note, finishing in fifth place following a comprehensive 88-run win over South Africa in their positional play-off in Cuttack. Sri Lanka equalled their fourth highest ODI score to make 244 for seven before dismissing South Africa for 156 as Shashikala Siriwardene returned figures of four for 31.
15 February 2013

England Beat New Zealand In Final Super Six Game

England Women beat New Zealand Women by 15 runs in the final Super Six match of the Women's World Cup in a match that was a repeat of the final four years ago. Events elsewhere in Mumbai, where the West Indies beat Australia, confirmed that neither of this sides can go any further in the tournament, but that didn't stop them producing an entertaining game.
13 February 2013

West Indies Women Reach First Ever Final

West Indies Women sensationally beat Australia Women by eight runs in their final Super Six match in the ICC Women's World Cup, in doing so reaching their first ever final and knocking defending champions England, as well as New Zealand, out of the tournament.
13 February 2013

Sri Lanka Collapse Hands South Africa Victory

Sri Lanka Women lost seven wickets for seven runs, collapsing from 110 for three to be all out for 117 to hand South Africa a 110-run win in their Women's World Cup Super Six game in Cuttack. They were making steady progress having been set 228 to win before losing their way completely, Dane van Niekerk taking four for 18 to ensure the two sides will meet again in Friday's fifth place play-off.
13 February 2013

West Indies Beat New Zealand To Stay In World Cup Hunt

West Indies are as close to a Women's World Cup final as they have ever been thanks to a 48-run win over New Zealand in their penultimate Super Six game in Mumbai. Their destiny now lies in their own hands after they defended a score of 207 for nine by dismissing New Zealand for 159 in 44.3 overs.
11 February 2013

Shrubsole Keeps England Final Hopes Alive

Anya Shrubsole and Danielle Wyatt both returned career-best figures as England Women trounced South Africa Women in the ICC Women's World Cup. The pair combined to bowl South Africa out for just 77 and then Lydia Greenway and Arran Brindle ensured that the runs were knocked off in less than 10 overs. Shrubsole took all of the first five wickets to fall and put South Africa on the back foot - a position from which they never recovered.
10 February 2013

Australia Crush Sri Lanka To Reach World Cup Final

Australia Women's seemingly inexorable march towards a sixth Women's World Cup title advanced one step further as they comfortably beat Sri Lanka by nine wickets in their penultimate Super Six game. They made it five tournament wins out of five by dismissing the competition's surprise package for 131 and then racing to their target in just 22.2 overs.
10 February 2013

England Already Looking Forward To Next Game - Colvin

England's Holly Colvin hit the winning runs in the final of the 2009 Women's World Cup, but fell just short of pulling off another close win for her side as they went down by two runs in their Super Six game against Australia in Mumbai. England were bowled out for 145 in reply to Australia's 147, a result which leaves them in fourth place in the standings with two games remaining.
8 February 2013

Taylor Leads West Indies Women To Close Win

West Indies Women successfully chased down the 231 that they needed to win their opening Super Six match in the ICC Women's World Cup, but the chase wasn't without its difficulties. South Africa Women kept fighting all the way to the end and it was left to number 10 Shanel Daley to hit the winning boundary.
8 February 2013

New Zealand Seamers Give Side Easy Win

Following their wins over England and India, Sri Lanka Women were brought back down to earth with a thrashing at the hands of New Zealand Women in their first super six match. The White Ferns seam attack of Sian Ruck and Lea Tahuhu did the bulk of the damage as they were bundled out for just 103, with openers Frances Mackay and Suzie Bates then adding 71 to put New Zealand well on the way to victory.
8 February 2013