Trott Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award

Trott Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award
Trott Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award
©Action Images / Paul Childs Livepic
Trott Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award
Trott Wins ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award
©Action Images / Paul Childs Livepic

England batsman Jonathan Trott has won tthe International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricketer Of The Year award, following in the footsteps of compatriot Andrew Flintoff, who won the award in 2005.

He beat off competition from Alastair Cook, Hashim Amla and Sachin Tendulkar to become the eighth recipient of the award at the annual ceremony, this year held in London.

Trott enjoyed an outstanding run of form during the qualifying period (11th August 2010 and 3rd August 2011) during which he scored 1,042 Test runs and 1,064 One-Day International runs helping England reach the quarter-finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup and retain the Ashes with a 3-1 success down under.

"It's fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award and it's a brilliant feeling to be recognised," Trott said.

There was consolation for Cook, however, after he was named as the Test Cricketer Of The Year, following his efforts of 1,302 runs including a highest score of 235 not out during England's Ashes win..

Like, Trott, he was quick to pay tribute to the England team.

"I think the highlight of the year was when we won in Sydney to beat Australia and Chris Tremlett to take that final wicket it was truly a great year," he said.

"This award is about the rest of the team - not just me."

Similar sentiments were echoed by Sri Lankan wicket-keeper Kumar Sangakkara, who was named as the ODI Cricketer Of The Year after he led his side to the final of the World Cup and scored 1,049 runs.

Speaking from Pallekele where he had helped his side draw the second Test against Australia, Sangakkara said:

"It's a great honour first of all to have been nominated for this award and a great honour t ohave actually won it.

"I would like to thank the rest of my team-mates, they have done a great job over the years in one-day cricket and I am privileged to be  part of this and led these guys for just over two years. I thank you again, I feel very very proud."

There were two awards for West Indians as powerful all-rounder Stafanie Taylor picked up the Women's Cricketer Of The Year Award and young leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo took away the Emerging Cricketer Of The Year award, dedicating it to his father, who died when he was just eight years of age.

Pakistan's Aleem Dar was named as the Umpire Of The Year for the third time while Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate was given the Associate and Affilliate Player Of The Year Award for the second year in a row and third overall after another fine year, capped with a century against England during the World Cup.

New Zealand's Tim Southee bagged the Twenty20 International Performance award for his haul of five for 18 against Pakistan on 26th December 2010 while Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was given the ICC Spirit Of Cricket Award after he called back Ian Bell during the second Test at Trent Bridge following a controversial run out.

© Cricket World 2011


Cricket World Twitter