Umpires Appointed For 2008 Season

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced that Steve Garratt from Nottingham has been appointed to the full list of First Class Umpires for the 2008 season. Steve has been on the ECB Reserve List since 2003 and his appointment comes at a time when umpires and officials are being balloted on their future. Steve replaces Roy Palmer who retired at the end of the 2007 season after being on the ECB Full List for 28 seasons. Chris Kelly, ECB Umpires and Match Operations Manager, said: “Steve’s promotion is thoroughly deserved and we are delighted to welcome him to our full list. He has developed into a reliable and effective cricket official during the last few years and has earned this promotion following good performances at First Class level. Our congratulations go to him.” The ECB has set about to establish a pathway for all umpires and a positive ballot result will enable all members of the Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers (ACU&S) an opportunity to benefit from the structure and resources that the governing body is able to provide. The appointment of Steve Garratt is a clear indication of the ECB’s commitment to providing the appropriate opportunities to all officials. Mike Gatting, ECB Managing Director of Cricket Partnerships, said: “It is very important that all officials are motivated to get the most out of their hobby. Not all officials will be able to, or wish to, officiate in the professional game but we are committed to officials at all levels of the game.” The remaining members of the ECB Reserve List have been retained and there have been three additions made to the list with Andy Hicks from Worcestershire, Stephen Gale from Shropshire and former Hampshire, Essex and Glamorgan bowler Steve Malone, being added for the 2008 season. The ECB has 24 full-time umpires on its Full List and operates with six to nine umpires on the Reserve List. 2008 Umpires: Full List* R Bailey, N Bainton, G Burgess, N Cowley, B Dudleston, J Evans, S Garratt, I Gould, M Harris, P Hartley, J Holder, V Holder, R Illingworth, T Jesty, A Jones, R Kettleborough, B Leadbeater, N Llong, J Lloyds, N Mallender, T Robinson, G Sharp, J Steele, P Willey. Reserve List M Bodenham, K Coburn, N Cook, S Gale, M Gough, A Hicks, S Malone, D Millns, T Urben *Excludes Mark Benson who is a member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and he will be used by ECB in domestic matches when available. © ECB