Saturday 22 November 2008 

Umpires For Champions League Announced

Umpires For Champions League Announced
Umpires For Champions League Announced
© REUTERS/Siphiwe Sibeko (SOUTH AFRICA) Picture Supplied by Action Images
Australian Simon Taufel and New Zealander Gary Baxter will be the umpires in the final of the Champions League 2020 to be played at Chennai's M. Chidambaram Stadium on December 10th, 2008, according to Tournament Director Dhiraj Malhotra.

Releasing the list of match referees and tournament umpires here today, Dhiraj Malhotra said, "The first semi-final to be played in Bangalore on December 8 will be officiated by Australia's Daryl Harper and Pakistan's Asad Rauf while the second semi-final in Chennai on December 9 will have Simon Taufel and India's Shahvir Tarapore as the two umpires."

India's S. Venkatraghavan has been named the match referee for Mumbai while Billy Bowden, Amish Sahiba and Marais Erasmus will be the three umpires for all Mumbai matches.

New Zealander Jeff Crowe has been appointed the match referee and Asad Rauf, Daryl Harper and Suresh Shastri will be the three umpires for all Bangalore matches.

Sri Lanka's Roshan Mahanama will be the match referee whereas Simon Taufel, Gary Baxter and Shahvir Tarapore will be the three umpires for all the matches in Chennai.

Eight teams, including the reigning winners and runners-up from the domestic Twenty20 competitions in India (Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings), Australia (Western Australia Warriors and Victoria Bushrangers) and South Africa (Titans and Dolphins), plus the Sialkot Stallions, the reigning Twenty20 champions from Pakistan and England Twenty20 Cup winners Middlesex will contest a US$6 million team prize pool in the 2008 Champions League 2020.

The eight teams have been divided into two groups of four each and will initially play each other on a league basis. The top two teams will qualify for the semi-finals, with the Winners of Group A facing off against the Runners-Up of Group B and vice versa, in the last four stage.

© Champions League Twenty20