Wanderers To Host Champions League Twenty20 Final

Airtel Champions League Twenty20The Wanderers Stadium in South Africa will host the 2010 Champions League Twenty20 final after the full schedule for the event was released.

The stadium in Johannesburg, which has in the last ten years hosted the 2003 World Cup final, the 2007 ICC World Twenty20 final and the 2009 Indian Premier League final, will host another showpiece event while the semi-finals will take place at Kingsmead in Durban and Centurion Park.

The ten-team tournament, which runs from 10th to 26th September, will get underway with a game between Indian Premier League runners-up Mumbai Indians and South Africa's Highveld Lions - also runners-up in their domestic competition.

The ten teams have been split into two groups of five with Group A comprising Chennai Super Kings, Warriors, Victoria, Wayamba and Central Districts and Group B consists of Mumbai Indians, Highveld Lions, South Australia, Royal Challengers Bangalore and the to-be-decided West Indian champions.

The top two teams from each group progress directly to the semi-finals, held on 24th and 25th September.

Some players have qualified to play for more than one team (should Trinidad & Tobago win the West Indian domestic championship, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard would qualify for three teams, as does New Zealand's Ross Taylor already) and as per last year's rules, if they decide to play for their 'away' team, then the away team must pay their 'home' team (the team from the country for whom they play international cricket) a sum of $US 200,000.

The players who will be making such decisions are: Jacques Kallis (Warriors, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Makhaya Ntini (Warriors, Chennai Super Kings), Mark Boucher (Warriors, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians, South Australia), Dwayne Bravo (Mumbai Indians, Victoria), Cameron White (Victoria, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Ross Taylor (Central Districts, Victoria, Royal Challengers Bangalore).


10th September: Mumbai Indians v Highveld Lions
11th September: Warriors v Waymba; Chennai Super Kings (CSK) v Central Districts (CD)
12th September: Highveld Lions v South Austraila; Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) v TBC (West Indian champions)
13th September: Warriors v Victoria
14th September: Mumbai Indians v South Australia
15th September: Victoria v CD; CSK v Wayamba
16th September: Mumbai Indians v TBC
17th September: South Australia v RCB
18th September: Warriors v Central Districts; CSK v Victoria
19th September: Highveld Lions v TBC; Mumbai Indians v RCB
20th September: Victoria v Wayamba
21st September: South Australia v TBC, Highveld Lions v RCB
22nd September: Wayamba v CD; CSK v Warriors
24th & 25th September: Semi-finals
26th September: Final

© Cricket World 2010