Wrenthorpe Claim Solly Central Yorkshire League Title

Wrenthorpe Claim Solly Central Yorkshire League Title
Wrenthorpe Claim Solly Central Yorkshire League Title
©Action Images

Wrenthorpe are the Solly Central Yorkshire League champions. They made sure of the Premier Division title with three games to go by beating their nearest rivals New Farnley by 39 runs.

Former Northamptonshire batsman David Paynter top scored with 108 as Wrenthorpe posted a challenging 280 for nine.
Ex-Yorkshire, Gloucestershire and Worcestershire all-rounder Ian Fisher held the New Farnley innings together by making 112, but they fell short of their target on 241 for nine.  

At the other end of the table, Altofts and Batley both won to improve their chances of avoiding relegation. Altofts beat Townville by 38 runs, making 183 for nine before bowling out their opponents for 145 with Asim Khan taking 4-27, Brent Law 3-23 and Michael Trevathan 2-25. Tim Walton was Townville's top scorer with 57 while Richie Bresnan took 4-42.

Mohammed Tahir made 62 as Batley totalled 251 for nine against Birstall. Birstall were in deep trouble at 107 for eight, but recovered to close on 205 for eight - although 46 runs short - thanks to an unbroken ninth wicket stand between opener Connor Williams with 109 not out and Zafar Kahn 32 not out.

In contrast, Liversedge and Ossett slipped deeper into relegation trouble after their latest defeats. Bottom club Liversedge lost by 71 runs at Methley. Nick Connolly with 71 and Hamid Khan 51 enabled Methloey to total 240 for our. They then bowled out Liversedge for 169 with Hemantha Alles taking 4-36 and John Rickers 3-38.

Ossett suffered a dramatic collapse against Wakefield St Michael's. Chasing their opponents' total of 237 of nine, Ossett slid from 68 for two to 100 all out as Michael Carroll took 5-36 and Alex Leyshon 3-26. Earlier, Simon Stirling with 72 and Jake Thorne were St Michael's top scorers.

Openers David Meiring with 67 and Richard Foster 50 laid the foundations for Wakefield Thornes' six wicket win over Northowram Fields with a first wicket stand of 125. Bradley Hauenstein top scored with 57 in Fields' total of 160 for nine.

David Markham

Click here for the latest ECB Premier League results and standings