Wyatt Wins England Call-Up For Tour Of India

Wyatt Wins England Call-Up For Tour Of India
Wyatt Wins England Call-Up For Tour Of India
©Action Images / Steven Paston

18-year-old Staffordshire off-spinner Danielle Wyatt has won a call-up to the England Women's squad to tour India for five One-Day Internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals in February and March.

Wyatt replaces left-arm spinner Holly Colvin, who is unavailable due to her academic commitments in the squad while Claire Taylor, who is taking a break from international cricket, is also absent.

Wicket-keeper Sarah Taylor, who missed the tour of the West Indies, also returns while the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) also confirmed that Claire Taylor would be back in training in February ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in April.

"The team has had an outstanding year in 2009 but attentions have already turned to what will be a challenging year in 2010," ECB head of women's cricket Clare Connor said.


"The tour to India will be a real test for the squad and without Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin there are opportunities for other squad members to stake a claim for a place in the side and prove that they are match winners ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in April and the series against New Zealand this summer.


“It is a demanding place to play cricket and the fact that no squad member has ever won a series in India proves just what a challenge the three weeks will be. The girls will be determined to change their losing record in India and come back with wins in both the One Day and Twenty20 series."


England Women squad: Charlotte Edwards (captain), Caroline Atkins, Tamsin Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Lydia Greenway, Isa Guha, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Laura Marsh, Beth Morgan, Ebony Rainford-Brent, Nicki Shaw, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Danielle Wyatt


Proposed Itinerary


Feb 15: England squad arrive in Bangalore

Feb 17: warm-up match against KSCA XI, Bangalore

Feb 19: 1st ODI, Bangalore

Feb 22: 2nd ODI, Hyderabad

Feb 24: 3rd ODI, Hyderabad

Feb 27: 4th ODI, Vizag

Mar 01: 5th ODI, Vizag

Mar 05: 1st Twenty20, D Y Patil

Mar 07: 2nd Twenty20 Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai

Mar 08: 3rd Twenty20 Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai

© Cricket World 2009