Monday 25 November 2013 

Zaheer Khan Recalled For South Africa Tests

Zaheer Khan
Zaheer Khan has been recalled to India's Test squad for the tour of South Africa
© REUTERS / Action Images

Experienced fast bowler Zaheer Khan has been recalled to India's Test squad to tour South Africa after not playing international cricket for almost a year.

The left-armer, a veteran of 88 Tests, 200 One-Day Internationals and 17 Twenty20 Internationals, adds valuable experience to an otherwise young attack.

Mohammad Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who impressed during India's two innings victories against the West Indies, are included in the squad along with Umesh Yadav, who continues to make his way back from injury.

Ishant Sharma is the other pacer selected with established pair Ravichandran Ashwin and Pragyan Ojha the specialist spinners.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja takes up the all-rounder slot as uncapped batsman Ambati Rayudu joins Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma as specialist batsmen.

Wriddhiman Saha, who made his Test debut against South Africa in 2010, is named as Mahendra Singh Dhoni's deputy.

In the One-Day International squad, Ishant Sharma returns at the expense of Ranganath Vinay Kumar and Jaydev Unadkat is left out with batsman Rahane back in the squad.

India's shortened tour of South Africa begins with three One-Day Internationals on 5th, 8th and 11th December before the two Tests, in Johannesburg and Durban, get underway on 18th and 26th December respectively.

India Test squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Pragyan Ojha, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, Umesh Yadav

India ODI squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Mohammad Shami, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ishant Sharma, Mohit Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

© Cricket World 2013

Fixtures & Results

5th December: 1st ODI, Johannesburg
RSA 358-4 beat IND 217 by 141 runs
8th December: 2nd ODI, Durban
RSA 280-6 beat IND 146 by 134 runs
11th December: 3rd ODI, Centurion
RSA 301-8 v IND - no result, rain
18th-22nd December: 1st Test, Johannesburg
IND 280 & 421 drew with RSA 244 & 450-7
26th-30th December: 2nd Test, Durban
RSA 500 & 59-0 beat IND 334 & 223 by 10 wickets