Zaheer, Tendulkar Rested, Nayar And Nehra Called Up

Zaheer, Tendulkar Rested, Nayar And Nehra Called Up
Zaheer, Tendulkar Rested, Nayar And Nehra Called Up
©EUTERS/Mike Hutchings (SOUTH AFRICA SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

India have named a 16-man squad for their four-match One Day International tour of India that gets underway next week.

Batsman Sachin Tendulkar and fast bowler Zaheer Khan have been rested, Suresh Raina has been ruled out with a thumb injury while there are call-ups for all-rounder Abhishek Nayar and Ashish Nehra.

Nehra impressed during the Indian Premier League, when he took 19 wickets for the Delhi Daredevils and the call-up for Nayar is his first. He has also pushed himself into contention with strong Indian Premier League performances for the Mumbai Indians.

Nehra last played an ODI for India before a string of injuries ruled him out of contention.

Batsman Murali Vijay is the other uncapped playere in the squad and with no Tendulkar or Virender Sehwag in the party, he could join Gautam Gambhir at the top of the order unless Rohit Sharma continues in that role.

Established pace bowlers Ishant Sharma and Praveen Kumar are joined by RP Singh while a number of spin options will be available to captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, with Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan Singh and Ravi Jadeja all selected.

The first ODI is on 26th June in Jamaica.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wicket-keeper), Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Murali Vijay, Subramaniam Badrinath, RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik

© Cricket World 2009