< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st ODI Pakistan v Zimbabwe: Pakistan win by 26 runs in Rawalpindi

Pakistan won the 1st ODI against Zimbabwe, at the Rawalpindi Stadium, Rawalpindi today by 26 runs.

Match Summary

Pakistan 281 - 8

Zimbabwe 255 all out

Result - Pakistan won by 26 runs


Match Report - Salim Parvez - Taylor stars in a narrow loss


In the opening encounter of the three-match 50-over series at Pindi Cricket Stadium, Pakistan beat Zimbabwe by 26 runs With covid-19 still posing threat, there was still no crowd to watch the proceedings. In his first game as a new captain in ODIs, Babar Azam took the option to bat first. Today the opening batsman Abid Ali was preferred over Fakhar Zaman, the flamboyant of the two.

Batting first, Pakistan’s two left-handers: Imam-ul-Haq (58 off 75 balls) and Haris Sohail (71 off 82 balls) were both made to work for their runs whilst Pakistan middle order, collectively, never got going. A late-order flourish by Imad Wasim, for which he is well known and feared, took the home total to 281-8 at the end of their 50 overs. He clubbed unbeaten 34 off 26 balls with two sixes, when Zimbabwe were looking to keep Pakistan to around 260 mark.

A fifth-wicket stand, dominated by leg-side strokes against between wicket-keeper Brendan Taylor (112 off 117 balls, 11 fours and 2 sixes) and Wesley Madhevere (55) worth 119 kept Zimbabwe in the game. Before left-arm pace pairing of Shaheen Afridi (5-49) and Wahab Riaz (4-41) took the centre stage to help bowl the opposition for 255. Taylor’s innovative shots over the wicket-keeper and in the third man region, did frustrate the bowlers, before he was caught at mid-off. He was a deserving winner of the Man of the Match award.



 Pakistan - Abid Ali, Imam ul-Haq, Babar Azam(c), Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf

Zimbabwe - Sikandar Raza, Brian Chari, Chamu Chibhabha(c), Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor(wk), Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Carl Mumba, Tendai Chisoro, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava


Match Details

Start Time: 07:00

Toss: Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Officials: Aleem Dar, Ahsan Raza, Asif Yaqoob, Rashid Riaz, Javed Malik

©Cricket World 2020