< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st T20I NZ v India: First game abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rains

Wet Wellington Stadium
Wet Wellington Stadium
Captains Hardik Pandya and Kane Williamson
Captains Hardik Pandya and Kane Williamson

India's first T20I on the New Zealand tour was washed out on Friday at the Sky Stadium in Wellington without a ball being bowled.

Persistent heavy rains ensured that both sides were indoors and made one appearance when there were no showers.

This was meant to be the first T20I at the Sky Stadium in Wellington in 20 months.

Finally at 8.52 pm New Zealand time, the two on-field umpires Chris Brown and Wayne Knights called off the game, 54 minutes before the cut-off time.

The three-match T20I series will now be a two-match contest. The second game will be played at Mount Maunganui on Sunday.


India: Hardik Pandya (captain), Rishabh Pant (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson,  Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner  

Match Details
Toss: No toss
Venue: Sky Stadium, Wellington
Match officials: Chris Brown, Wayne Knights (On-field Umpires); Kim Cotton (TV Umpire); Cory Black (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022