< >
Cricket Betting us

1st T20I SL v Ind: SKY, Bhuvneshwar, Chahar star in India's 38-run win

India rode high on fine bowling performance by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and a strokeful Suryakumar Yadav starred as the visitors won by 38 runs in the first T20 International to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series

India posted 164 for five in their 20 overs after being asked to bat, while Sri Lanka fell short by 38 runs to be bowed out for 126 at the R Premadasa Stadium on Sunday.

Earlier, India rode on a fine half-century by Suryakumar Yadav (50: 34b, 5x4, 2x6) to reach a comfortable score. Yadav shared a 62 run third wicket stand with skipper Shikhar Dhawan (46). Dhawan shared a crucial 51 run alliance with Sanju Samson for the second wicket after debutant Prithvi Shaw fell off the first ball of the match. Towards the end Ishan Kishan used the long handle as India finished on 164 for five in their 20 overs.

For Sri Lanka the wicket-takers were Dushmantha Chameera (2-24) and Wanindu Hasaranga (2-28).

In their reply, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals. Debutant Charith Asalanka (44) played a lone hand as he played a smart innings off 26 balls with three boundaries and three sixes. For a brief while Asalanka shared a 40 run fourth wicket stand with Ashen Bandara but India kept a tight leash. But post that the innings collapsed without a fight to finish on 126 in 18.3 overs.

For India the key wicket-takers were Bhuvneshwar Kumar (4-22), Deepak Chahar (2-24). Spinners Yuzvendra Chahal (1-19) and Varun Chakravarthy (1-28), all-rounders Hardik Pandya (1-17) and Krunal Pandya (1-16) also picked up wickets.

India gave debuts to Shaw and Varun Chakravarthy, while Sri Lanka gave first chance to Asalanka and Chamika Karunaratne.

Match Summary

India 164-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Prithvi Shaw-0.1 ov), 2-51 (Sanju Samson-6.1 ov), 3-113 (Shikhar Dhawan-14.1 ov), 4-127 (Suryakumar Yadav-15.2 ov), 5-153 (Hardik Pandya-18.4 ov)

Sri Lanka 126 (18.3)

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Minod Bhanuka-2.3 ov), 2-48 (Dhananjaya de Silva-6.2 ov), 3-50 (Avishka Fernando-7.1 ov), 4-90 (Ashen Bandara-12.6 ov), 5-111 (Charith Asalanka-15.3 ov), 6-111 (Wanindu Hasaranga-15.5 ov), 7-122 (Chamika Karunaratne-16.6 ov), 8-124 (Dasun Shanaka-17.4 ov), 9-125 (Isuru Udana-18.1 ov), 10-126 (Dushmantha Chameera-18.3)

Result: India won by 38 runs, take 1-0 lead


Playing XI
India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wicket-keeper), Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera

Match details
Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Start time: 2000 hrs (Sri Lanka time)
Match officials: Kumar Dharmasena, Raveendra Wimalasiri (On-field umpires); Ruchira Palliyaguruge (TV Umpire);
Lyndon Hannibal (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)