< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st Test Day 1 Eng v Ind: Shami, Bumrah spell doom for England

India hold the edge at the end of the first day's play in the first Test of the five-Test series for the Pataudi Trophy against host England.

India's seam bowlers Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami bowled tremendously to shoot out England for a mere 183. In response India finished the day at 21 for no loss.

Earlier, England opted to bat after winning the toss. They lost Rory Burns in the very first over of the Test. Thereafter, they consolidated for a bit, but captain Joe Root (64: 108b, 178m, 11x4) held the innings together. Root added 72 for the fourth wicket with Jonny Bairstow. But right on the stroke of tea, Bairstow fell and the tide turned for England. From thereon, England collapsed from 138 for three. Post tea England lost wickets in a heap and but for the final wicket stand of 23 between Sam Curran (27 n.o.) and Jimmy Anderson, there was nothing much to crow about.

For India, the wicket-takers were Bumrah (4-46) and Shami (3-28). The other wicet-taker was Shardul Thakur (2-41).

India played four fast bowlers in their line-up including Bumrah, Shami, Thakur and Mohammed Siraj. They made three changes from the XI that played the World Test Championship final. Injured Shubman Gill, senior fast bowler Ishant Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin were the ones to miss out in the playing XI. England once again went in without a specialist spinner and named four seamers in their XI.

Match Summary

England 1st Innings: 183 (65.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Rory Burns-0.5 ov), 2-42 (Zak Crawley-20.6 ov), 3-66 (Dom Sibley-27.3 ov), 4-138 (Jonny Bairstow-50.2 ov), 5-138 (Dan Lawrence-50.6 ov), 6-145 (Jos Buttler-55.5 ov), 7-155 (Joe Root-58.1 ov), 8-155 (Ollie Robinson-58.4 ov), 9-160 (Stuart Broad-59.6 ov), 10-183 (James Anderson-65.4 ov)

India 1st Innings: 21-0 (13)

End of Day 1: India trail England by 162 runs


Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Dan Lawrence, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj

Match details
Toss: England, elected to bat
Venue: Trent Bridge, Nottingham
Start time: 1100 hrs (UK Time)
Match officials: Michae Gough, Richard Kettleborough (On-field umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); David Milns (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)