< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st Test Day 2 NZ v IND: Late wickets keep India in the match

Kane Williamson celebrates his half century against India today

With New Zealand taking a narrow lead of 51 and their last recognised batsman Colin de Grandhomme at the crease, India are still in the game.

Match Summary: Stumps Day 2

India 165 (68.1 Overs; Rahane46(138), Agarwal34(84); Jamieson4/39, Southee4/49)

New Zealand 216-5 (71.1 Overs; Williamson(c)89(153), Ross Taylor44(71); Ishant3/31, Ashwin1/60)

At the close - New Zealand lead by 51 runs


All of India's hopes of scraping their way to 250 on Day 2 of the Wellington Test went for a toss when Rishabh Pant was run out soon after play resumed. A few minutes later, Ajinkya Rahane in a moment of uncertainty of whether to leave the ball or play at it, ended up edging it to BJ Watling.

Despite a 21-run hand from Mohammed Shami, India folded up for just 165. Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson were the star bowlers for New Zealand and picked up a 4-wicket haul each.

In reply, New Zealand started their first innings well with the openers not getting separated till the tenth over. After Tom Latham was strangled down the leg side, Tom Blundell received a peach from Ishant Sharma and was castled.

Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson put on close to a 100-run partnership but the two were dismissed in quick succession. As Ravichandran Ashwin struck near the close of play, New Zealand ended the day at 216-5.

If India can keep the Blackcaps' first innings lead to under 100, with the home side batting last, they are still in with a chance.


New Zealand - Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult

India - Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match Details


Start Time: 22:30

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Basin Reserve, Wellington

Officials: Richard Kettleborough, Aleem Dar, Michael Gough, Wayne Knights, Ranjeev Sharma

©Cricket World 2020