< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st Test Day 3 NZ v IND: New Zealand tighten grip with lower order cameos and early strikes

New Zealand's Trent Boult celebrates the wicket of India's Prithvi Shaw
New Zealand's Trent Boult celebrates the wicket of India's Prithvi Shaw
©Shaw REUTERS/Martin Hunter

66 runs were scored and 2 wickets lost from 33 overs in the last session of the day's play. But with the wickets being that of Virat Kohli and Mayank Agarwal, India have been pushed a fair way back in the match.

Match Summary: Stumps Day 3

Full Scorecard

India 165 (68.1 Overs; Rahane46(138), Agarwal34(84); Jamieson4/39, Southee4/49) & 144-4 (65 Overs; Agarwal58(99), Rahane25(67); Boult3/27, Southee1/41)

New Zealand 348 (100.2 Overs; Williamson(c)89(153), Jamieson44(45); Ishant5/68, Ashwin3/99)

At the close - India trail by 39 runs

When Jasprit Bumrah dismissed wicketkeeper BJ Watling off the first delivery of the day, it felt that India could very well find their way back into the game. The hope strengthened when Tim Southee was dismissed soon and New Zealand had a narrow lead of 60 runs with just three more wickets in the bank.

But, debutant Kyle Jamieson, who earlier pick up a four-wicket haul, joined hands with Colin de Grandhomme. The 71-run 8th wicket stand between the two took the game away from India. Trent Boult further added to India's troubles with a quick-fire 30-odd as the hosts stretched their lead to 183, courtesy of 132 runs in the first session.

Ishant Sharma was India's top bowler and picked up a 5-wicket haul.

Prithvi Shaw was very loose with regards to the Test opening standard and gave away his wicket away. Cheteshwar Pujara, after a long toil, misjudged an incoming delivery from Trent Boult and lost his off peg just at the stroke of tea.

Mayank Agrawal and Virat Kohli were roughed up by New Zealand's short-pitch attack and give their wickets away. With Hanuma Vihari and Ajinkya Rahane at the crease and India still trailing by 39 runs, New Zealand are well ahead in the game. 



New Zealand - Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult

India - Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match Details

Start Time: 22:30

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Basin Reserve, Wellington

Officials: Richard Kettleborough, Aleem Dar, Michael Gough, Wayne Knights, Ranjeev Sharma

©Cricket World 2020