< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st Test Day 4 Eng v Ind: England take firm Root despite Bumrah strikes

India ended the fourth day's play in the first Test of the five-Test series for the Pataudi Trophy with a task of scoring a further 157 runs for a win. England was bowled out for 303, thanks to captain Joe Root's 21st Test century. India ended the day at 52 for one with the final day's play promising a humdinger of a contest.

Earlier, the home team resumed at their overnight score of 25 for no loss. But they soon lost two early wickets. It was then down to captain Joe Root to take hold of the innings. Root shared a 89-run third wicket stand with Dom Sibley (28). Then Root shared crucial stands with Jonny Bairstow, Danny Lawrence, Jos Buttler and Sam Curran. Root made 109 off 172 balls in 284 minutes with 14 boundaries. This was Root's 21st Test century. Sam Curran played another crucial cameo worth 32. Towards the end Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah cleaned up the tail.

For India the wicket-takers were Bumrah (5-64), Mohammed Siraj (2-84) and Shardul Thakur (2-37).

Later when the chase began India made a confident start. But before the day's play ended Lokesh Rahul fell for 28. Towards the end Cheteshwar Pujara and Rohit Sharma added a further added 18 runs before play ended with India on 52 for one. India needs a further 157 runs for a win.

Match Summary

England 1st Innings: 183 (65.4)
India 1st Innings: 278 (84.5)

England 2nd Innings: 303 (85.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-37 (Rory Burns-15.1 ov), 2-46 (Zak Crawley-16.6 ov), 3-135 (Dom Sibley-45.5 ov), 4-177 (Jonny Bairstow-57.3 ov), 5-211 (Dan Lawrence-64.5 ov), 6-237 (Jos Buttler-70.2 ov), 6-237 (Jos Buttler-70.2 ov), 7-274 (Joe Root-80.6 ov), 8-295 (Sam Curran-84.4 ov), 9-295 (Stuart Broad-84.5 ov), 10-303 (Ollie Robinson-85.5 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 52-1 (14)
Fall of wickets: 1-34 (KL Rahul-10.5 ov)

End of Day 4: India needs 157 more runs for a win


Playing XI

England: Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Dan Lawrence, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj

Match details
Toss: England, elected to bat
Venue: Trent Bridge, Nottingham
Start time: 1100 hrs (UK Time)
Match officials: Michae Gough, Richard Kettleborough (On-field umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); David Milns (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021