< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st Test Day 4 NZ v IND: Boult-Southee heroics help New Zealand register 10-wicket win & take 1-0 lead

New Zealand's Kane Williamson talks to India's Virat Kohli after New Zealand beat India in the First Test
New Zealand's Kane Williamson talks to India's Virat Kohli after New Zealand beat India in the First Test
©REUTERS/Martin Hunter

Courtesy of a Man of the Match winning performance from Tim Southee and his second-best Test figures of 9/110, New Zealand register their 100th Test victory.

For News, Previews, Match Reports, Videos and Audios of the New Zealand vs India Series Click Here

Match Summary: Stumps Day 4

Full scorecard

India 165 (68.1 Overs; Rahane46(138), Agarwal34(84); Jamieson4/39, Southee4/49) & 191 (81 Overs; Agarwal58(99), Rahane29(75); Southee5/61, Boult4/39)

New Zealand 348 (100.2 Overs; Williamson(c)89(153), Jamieson44(45); Ishant5/68, Ashwin3/99) & 9-0 (1.4 Overs; Latham7(4), Tom Blundell2(6); Bumrah0/1, Ishant0/8)

At the close - New Zealand won by 10 wickets

A defeat for India after conceding a 183-run lead in the first innings was always on the cards. However, that it would happen without a fight was hardly expected.

Virat Kohil's post match interview

The Indian batsmen, particularly with the partnership that had formed between Hanuma Vihari and Ajinkya Rahane, was expected to take them to a total that would give the Indian bowlers something to fight in the last innings.

However, much like the first innings, India collapsed in the second innings as well with the team getting bowled out for just 191. Ajinkya Rahane and Hanuma Vihari were dismissed off length deliveries from Trent Boult and Tim Southee respectively.

Southee soon removed Rishabh Pant and Ravichandran Ashwin, crashing all hopes of an Indian comeback. New Zealand had just nine runs to get and they did it in style to win by 10 wickets. The only saving grace for India was that it was not an innings defeat.

The second Test starts at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on February 29.



New Zealand - Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult

India - Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match Details

Start Time: 22:30

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Basin Reserve, Wellington

Officials: Richard Kettleborough, Aleem Dar, Michael Gough, Wayne Knights, Ranjeev Sharma

©Cricket World 2020