< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

1st Test Pakistan v Sri Lanka: No play possible on Day 4 in Rawalpindi

1st Test Pakistan v Sri Lanka: No play possible on Day 4 in Rawalpindi

There was no play possible on day 4 of the 1st Test between Pakistan and Sri Lanka in Rawalpindi today.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka - 282 - 6 (91.5 overs) – (Dimuth Karunaratne 59, Dhananjaya de Silva 87*; Shaheen Afridi 2-58)

Pakistan – Still to bat

At the Close of Play on Day 4 - Sri Lanka are 282 for 6



Salim Parvez – Comment - A damp squib at Rawalpindi

A complete washout was most disappointing for the spectators, hoping to catch action on day four of the Rawalpindi Test. It is a great shame that Pakistan’s return to Test cricket, has been marred by the wet conditions.

As opposed to England, Australia and South Africa, whose cricket season falls in the summer, the teams in the sub-continent, including Pakistan, play the game in the winter. The city of Rawalpindi, located in the north east of the country, has never been hit by the weather in the previous seven Test matches, ever since hosting Zimbabwe in December 1993. The present Pakistan-Sri Lanka Test, is one of the worse hit game in recent times, in the city.

A grey overcast morning was not a great news for all concerned and it did not allow the outfield to dry and make any play possible. With no prospect of improvement in the weather, the play was called off as early as 12.03pm. Sri Lanka with 282-6 on the board might be tempted to declare their innings and give their bowlers, a workout, before the second Test at Karachi, beginning on December 19.

Match Details


Pakistan - Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali(c), Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi

Sri Lanka - Dimuth Karunaratne(c), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella(wk), Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara


Start Time: 04:45

Toss: Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Officials: Michael Gough, Richard Kettleborough, Richard Illingworth, Shozab Raza, Andrew Pycroft

 ©Cricket World 2019