< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

1st Test Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka Day 3: Sri Lanka comeback leaves Draw the likely outcome

Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews celebrates his half century

Sri Lanka came back strongly against Zimbabwe, on day 3 of the 1st Test, at the Harare Sports Club, putting on 253 for the loss of 3 wickets today.


Match Summary

Zimbabwe 358 (Prince Masvaure 55 , Kevin Kasuza 63, Craig Ervine 85, Sikandar Raza 41, Donald Tiripano 44; Lasith Embuldeniya 5-114, Suranga Lakmal 3-53, Lahiru Kumara 2-82)

Sri Lanka – 295-4 (106 Ovs) – (Kusal Mendis 80, Angelo Mathews 92*, Dhananjaya de Silva 42*; Victor Nyauchi 2-38)

At Close of Play on Day 3 – Sri Lanka trail Zimbabwe by 63 runs with 6 wickets remaining


Sri Lanka continued on from their overnight score of 42-1, to amass a further 253 runs, ending the day on 295-4 - It was a dour day’s Test cricket, at the Harare Sports Club, a war of attrition and both sides could feel content with their efforts.

Needless to say, the match is heading for a draw, but these two teams are here to help reintroduce the host country, Zimbabwe, to the Test cricket arena and it is shaping up well to go all the way.


Kusal Mendis (80), Angelo Mathews (92*) and Dhananjaya de Silva 42* were the main run scorers for Sri Lanka and Victor Nyauchi 2-38 the pick of the bowlers from Zimbabwe.

With Sri Lanka trailing Zimbabwe by 63 runs, with 6 wickets remaining, at the close of play, it will need the batsmen to get a 200+ lead (and quickly) tomorrow to give Sri Lanka any chance of victory here.



Zimbabwe - Prince Masvaure, Regis Chakabva(wk), Brendan Taylor, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams(c), Sikandar Raza, Kevin Kasuza, Donald Tiripano, Kyle Jarvis, Ainsley Ndlovu, Victor Nyauchi

Sri Lanka - Dimuth Karunaratne, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, AD Mathews, LD Chandimal, DPDN Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, RAS Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara




Match Details


Start Time: 08:00

Toss: Zimbabwe won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Harare Sports Club, Harare

Officials: Marais Erasmus, Nitin Menon, Langton Rusere, Christopher Phiri, Javagal Srinat




© Cricket World 2020