< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

2020 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Comes to Thailand

2020 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Comes to Thailand
2020 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Comes to Thailand

The Asia Qualifier Division 2 for the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup is being held in Thailand from 9th to 17th December with ten teams playing in group matches in Bangkok and Chiang Mai before the semi-finals and finals are held in Bangkok to decide the two teams which will move forward towards the next U19 World Cup to be held in South Africa in 2020.

The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup has always held an important place in the global cricket world as it often provides the first chance for the best young cricketers to shine on the world stage in a major international competition. The event is staged every two years with the next competition due to take place in South Africa in January and February 2020 with India looking to defend the trophy they won in New Zealand in 2018.

The eleven leading countries have already been awarded places in the 16-team competition but the qualification process is well underway with a total of 50 countries across five regions competing for the last five places.

The long journey began in Essex in England in July and August with three teams, Netherlands, France and Denmark, moving up from Europe Division 2; three more teams, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Tanzania qualified from Africa Division 2 which was held in Potchefstroom, South Africa in August; and a busy year will come to a close with Asia Division 2 being held in Bangkok and Chiang Mai, Thailand from 9th to 17th December where the top two teams will progress to the next stage.

This will complete the full list of teams for the Division 1 Qualifiers for the five regions, Asia, Africa, Europe, East Asia Pacific and Americas to be held in 2019. The winners of these Division 1 tournaments will qualify for the next ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa.

The top two teams from this Asia Division 2 Qualifier will join Nepal, Malaysia, Singapore and UAE in the ICC U19 CWC Division 1 - Asia which will be staged in Malaysia in April 2019 and the winners will be one of the 16 teams which will compete in the 13th edition of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup.

Ten teams from across Asia are taking part in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Asia Division 2 competition with the teams divided into two groups. Bhutan, Oman, Qatar and Saudi Arabia join hosts Thailand in Group A, while Bahrain, China, Hong Kong, Kuwait and Maldives make up Group B.

Every team will have the opportunity to play four 50-over contests against the other teams in their group with matches being played at Terdthai Cricket Ground and at the Asian Institute of Technology in Bangkok, and at Gymkhana Club and at David Buck Oval at Prem International School in Chiang Mai.

The group matches will be played over six days from 9th to 14th December with games being played on all four grounds each day no fewer than four times in an extremely busy schedule for players and officials.

The two leading teams from each group will move on to the semi-finals which will be held at TCG and AIT in Bangkok on 16th December when the two semi-final winners will qualify to take part in the Asia Division 1 Qualifier in Malaysia. The tournament will conclude on 17th December with the final being held at TCG and the 3rd place play-off at AIT.

Over the 30-year history of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, many of the greatest Test and ODI cricketers in the world have made their first appearances on the world stage at Under-19 level and it is particularly true of players who emerge from Asian countries.

Probably the greatest current batsman India’s Virat Kohli played in the 2008 Under 19 World Cup in Malaysia before he had even made his IPL debut and the newest face in the Indian Test team, Prithvi Shaw, was captain of India U19s in the 2018 competition.

For countries like Afghanistan and Nepal, the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup provides an even more important stepping stone for emerging talent as the likes of Rashid Khan and Mujeeb-ur-Rahman (Afghanistan) and Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal) have shown, moving from school boy cricketers in distant corners of the globe to rising stars on the international stage.

The next generation of talented cricketers from ten Asian countries will have their chance to show off their talent over the next ten days and will be hoping to help their countries to reach the next stage of a qualification process that could see them take part in the next ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa in 2020.

Play gets underway at all four grounds in Bangkok and Chiang Mai at 9.30 am on Sunday 9th December: in Bangkok, Thailand face Saudi Arabia at TCG, Oman play Bhutan at AIT; in Chiang Mai, Hong Kong face China at Prem, while Maldives play Bahrain at Gymkhana.

Afghanistan beat Nepal by 61 runs at TCG in February 2011 in the final of the last major Under-19 competition played in Thailand. These two countries have moved on to greater things in recent years, which teams will follow in their footsteps?



Jagan Vijaykumar (C ), Rishabh Ramesh, George Axtell, Abu Bakar, Mohammad Waleed, Prasanna Venkatesh, Umair Khalid, Ali Hameed Khan, Safvan Saiyed, M. Jasim Minat, Sajjad Khan R Khan, Thirumal Varan, M Talha Qamar, Subhodip Karmakar


Yowon Pradhan (C), Tashi Palden, Nishan Mongar, Gakul Kumar Ghalley, Sherab Loday, Namgang Chejay, Namgay Thinley, Phuntsho Rangdol, Ngawang Thinley, Tashi Dorji, Dechen Wangdi, Sonam Yeshi, Ramchandra Mongar, Tshering Dorji


Guolei Wei (C ), Liang Chen, Zhuoyue Chen, Senqun Tian, Liuyang Wang, Zihao Wang, Xiaoze Wang, Rui Hou, Zelong Du, Yunfeng Pei, Yulong Zhang, Daolong Su, Penghan Zhang, Guohao Gao

Hong Kong:

Adit Gorwara (C), Kalhan Marc Challu, Munir Khan, Rahul Sharma, Daniyal Butt, Abdul Urslan, Mohammad Hassan Khan, Nasrulla Rana, Mohammed Hassan, Mehran Zeb, Ayush Ashish Shukla, Dhananjay Chetan Rao, Vikas Sharma, Aarush Bhagwat


Nomaan Sidique (C), Govind Sunil Kumar, Muhammad Usman Javed, Zeeshan Azerm Jilani, Faez Ahmed Qureshi, Abdul Sadiq, Muhammad Aamir Ali, Abdul Rehman, Hamza Ahmed Qureshi, Akhil Sajeev Nair, Jandu Hamoud Amanullah, Abdullah Zaheer, Meet Bhavsar


Mafaaz Hussain (C), Afaal Raeel Ahmed, Mohamed Ibrahim Sadhoof, Ali Mohamed Ivan, Mauroof Yoosuf Looth, Faizaan Faisal Ismail, Ahmed Mohamed Luayyu, Hassan Ibrahim Shaof, Rauf Ali Raafil, Fareed Shius, Ahmed Ibrahim Raid, Rasheed Rassam, Musthafa Mohamed Afsah, Muzzamil Yaqoob Salman


Prathamesh Santosh Kumble (C), Joel Biju, Mohammed Sameer, Amanpreet Singh Sirah, Siddhant Nilesh Gavankar, Azam Ali, Yash Mehta, Kevin Stagy Kattokaran, Sanjaya Raj Ravindra, Sami Al Balushi, Muhammad Muzahir Raza, Jeel Yagnesh Tanna, Neev Jayaprakash Poojari, Adeel Abbas


Hussain Khan (C), Shubh Agarwal, Patrick Romelo Akmeemana Kumurage, Aditya Piyush Makadia, Solaiman Mohammad, Kalith Charitha Anthony Amarasinghe, Afsarullah Obaidullah, Fateen Suhail Hakim, Samil Valiyapurayil Sadiq, Syed Yousuf Tameem, Saud Kamal, Nivid Rakeshbhai Patel, Bismillah Khan, Dhanitha Sandesh Gallu Hettiarrachchige

Saudi Arabia:

Saud (C), Mohamed Nawazish Jezuli, Abdullah Riaz, Aadil Mahmood Siddiqui, Mohamed Naeem, Ahmed Abdul Waheed Baladraf, Muhammad Taha, Osama Ahmed, Mohammad Abdullah Wasi, Rayyan Azhar, Mohammed Abdul Rahman, Zohaib Asim, Mohammed Yaseenuddin, Imran Ahamed Malik Jaleel


Kittiphat Daorueang, Thanaphon Yotharat, Kokiad Chatwong, Phiriyapong Suanchuai, Puyupath Sungnard, Natthaphon Samphaophong, Yodsak Saranonnakkun, Kongkidakon Rueangrotchanachai, Chiraphong Liangwichian, Adisorn Prasittiketkan, Sarawut Maliwan, Narawit Nutharaj, Patiphan Satphanit, Satarut Rungrueang

© Cricket World 2018