Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

2nd T20I Pakistan v Bangladesh: Pakistan too good for Bangladesh

2nd T20I Pakistan v Bangladesh: Pakistan too good for Bangladesh

As the top-ranking T20I side in the world, Pakistan have made a positive start to the year 2020 by taking the three-match series at home against Bangladesh. With two wins in as many days at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, it is back on track with new captain Babar Azam, all set to lead from the front.


Match Summary

Pakistan 137 - 1 (16.4 Ovs)

Bangladesh 136 - 6 (20 Ovs)

Result - Pakistan won by 9 wickets


Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah chose to bat first but his team was rocked by loss of three early wickets. Opening batsman Tamim Iqbal carried the team and using all his experience fought well to compile an unbeaten 65 off 53 balls with 7 fours and a six. His dismissal in the 18th over to a run out by Imad Wasim denied his team some extra runs and the final tally could not go beyond 136-6. It was not a fighting total on this wicket.

All three of Pakistan’s pacemen – Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Hasnain and Haris Rauf- were on target and hurt Bangladesh, who have arrived in the series without Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim, two of his most experienced players.


In reply Pakistan after losing Ahsan Ali to Shafiul Islam for a seven-ball duck had no issues chasing a small target. Both captain Babar Azam (66 off 44 balls, 7 fours and a six) and Mohammad Hafeez (67 off 49 balls, 9 fours and a six) shared a 131-run stand and were both undefeated when the winning run was scored in 16.4 overs.

A convincing nine-wicket victory pleased captain Babar, who was named Player of the Match.


Pakistan - Babar Azam(c), Ahsan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain

Bangladesh - Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das(wk), Mahmudullah(c), Mohammad Naim, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain


Match Details

Start Time: 09:00

Toss: Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Officials: Shozab Raza, Ahsan Raza, Ahmed Shahab, Tariq Sheikh, Ranjan Madugalle

©Cricket world 2020