< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

2nd T20I SL v Ind: Dhananjaya de Silva leads Sri Lanka to series levelling win

Sri Lanka pulled one back to level the three-match T20 International at 1-1, with a four-wicket win in the second match on Wednesday.

At the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, India after being asked to bat posted a modest 132 for five in their 20 overs on a sluggish pitch. In response, Sri Lanka faltered a bit but chased down the target in 19.4 overs to finish on 133 for six to win the contest.

Earlier, India were forced to hand four debuts to Rutraj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, Nitish Rana and Chetan Sakariya after Covid19 scare in the camp. Sri Lanka on the other hand handed a debut to Ramesh Mendis.

India started off well with a 49-run stand for the opening wicket between Ruturaj Gaikwad (21) and Shikhar Dhawan (40). Later, Padikkal added a crucial 29. Then wickets fell at regular intervals to halt India's flow. India finally finished on 132 for five in their 20 overs.

For Sri Lanka the bowler who was most impressive was Akila Dananjaya (2-29).

The chase for Sri lanka was patchy as they lost wickets at regular intervals. They first collapsed to 55 for three and then 66 for four. Minod Bhanuka (36) held the innings together for a while. Then it was down to Dhananjaya de Silva (40 n.o.: 34b, 1x4, 1x6) to steer Sri Lanka to a famous series levelling win. Sri Lanka finished at 133 for six in 19.4 overs.

For India, the best bowler was Kuldeep Yadav (2-30).

Match Summary

India: 132-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-6.6 ov), 2-81 (Shikhar Dhawan-12.1 ov), 3-99 (Devdutt Padikkal-15.3 ov), 4-104 (Sanju Samson-16.4 ov), 5-130 (Nitish Rana-19.4 ov)

Sri Lanka: 133-6 (19.4)

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Avishka Fernando-2.4 ov), 2-39 (Sadeera Samarawickrama-6.6 ov), 3-55 (Dasun Shanaka-9.1 ov), 4-66 (Minod Bhanuka-11.4 ov), 5-94 (Wanindu Hasaranga-14.6 ov), 6-105 (Ramesh Mendis-17.2 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by four wickets, series level at 1-1


Playing XI
India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Nitish Rana, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wicket-keeper), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ramesh Mendis, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya

Match details
Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to field
Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Start time: 2000 hrs (Sri Lanka time)
Match officials: Prageeth Rambukwella, Ruchira Palliyaguruge (On-field umpires); Kumar Dharmasena (TV Umpire); Raveendra Wimalsairi (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)