< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Aus v Ind, Day 1, 2nd Test: Bumrah and Ashwin give India edge on 1st Day

Jasprit Bumrah and Ravichandran Ashwin strike on first day
Jasprit Bumrah and Ravichandran Ashwin strike on first day

Ravichandran Ashwin and Jasprit Bumrah gave India the edge over Australia on the first Day of the second Test at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne today.

India seized the advantage on the opening day of the second Boxing Day Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) as they bowled out Australia for 195. In reply, India finished the day on 36 for one.

India was well served by senior bowlers Jasprit Bumrah (4-56) and Ravichandran Ashwin (3-35) who led the way for the visitors. The other major performer with the ball was debutant Mohammed Siraj (2-40).

India struck early dismissing opener Joe Burns. Australia slipped to 38 for three. Thereafter, it took a 86 run fourth wicket stand between Marnus Labuschange (48: 132b, 4x4) and Travis Head (38: 92b, 4x4) to resurrect the innings.

Then there was a middle-order collapse as Siraj struck a couple of blows. Ashwin also bowled beautifully to tie the batsmen down.

Australia had slipped to 155 for seven. Thereafter, yet again Australia's tail wagged as they managed to add 40 runs for the last three wickets. Nathan Lyon (20) hit some lusty blows before he fell. Fianlly, India managed to bowl out Australia for 195 in 72.3 overs.

In their response India lost Mayank Agarwal early. It was then down to debutant Shubman Gill who is batting now on 28 not out off 38 balls with five boundaries. He has already added 36 runs for the second wicket with number three Cheteshwar Pujara.

Match Summary-Australia v India, 2nd Test, Day 1, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Australia 1st Innings: 195 (72.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Joe Burns-4.2 ov), 2-35 (Matthew Wade-12.5 ov), 3-38 (Steven Smith-14.3 ov), 4-124 (Travis Head-41.5 ov), 5-134 (Marnus Labuschagne-49.3 ov), 6-155 (Cameron Green-61.4 ov), 7-155 (Tim Paine-62.6 ov), 8-164 (Mitchell Starc-67.1 ov), 9-191 (Nathan Lyon-71.5 ov), 10-195 (Pat Cummins-72.3 ov)

India 1st Innings: 36-1 (11)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Mayank Agarwal-0.6 ov)

Close of Play - India trail Australia by 159 runs with 9 wickets remaining





Playing XI 

Australia: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Tim Paine (captain & wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India - Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj


Match Details


Start Time: 23:30

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Gerard Abood, David Boon

©Cricket World 2020