< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Aus v Ind 2nd Test, Day 2: Rahane leads from the front to help India take lead

Ajinkya Rahane led from the front
Ajinkya Rahane led from the front

A wonderful hundred by India’s stand in skipper, Ajinkya Rahane, gave India a first Innings lead of 82 with 5 wickets remaining to take into day three of the second Test at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne today.

India secured a very handy 82 run lead on the second day of the Boxing Day Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday.

The person leading the charge for India was captain Rahane who scored a brilliant unbeaten 104 off 200 deliveries. India, when stumps were drawn owing to rains affecting the play, was at 277 for five.

Rahane shared crucial stands with three different players to help take India forward in the day's play. Rahane added 52 runs for the fourth wicket with Hanuma Vihari (21). Thereafter, the innings saw a major shift in momentum with Rishabh Pant (29) as Rahane added 57 runs for the fifth wicket in quick time.

Then it was upto Ravindra Jadeja (40 n.o.: 104b, 1x4) to take India into a strong position through a 104 run sixth wicket stand with Rahane. The Indian captain was also lucky as he was dropped twice, when on 73 by Steve Smith and then on 104 by Travis Head.

In fact throughout the day Australia's catching was awful as they offered a few chances to the Indian batsmen.

Earlier, in the day India began well through debutant Shubman Gill (45) and Cheteshwar Pujara who weathered the early storm. They added 61 for the second wicket.

The most successful bowlers for India were Mitchell Starc (2-61) and Pat Cummins (2-71). Nathan Lyon also bowled a tight spell.

Match Summary - Australia v India, 2nd Day, 2nd Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Australia 1st Innings: 195

India 1st Innings: 277-5 (91.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Mayank Agarwal-0.6 ov), 2-61 (Shubman Gill-21.6 ov), 3-64 (Cheteshwar Pujara-23.4 ov), 4-116 (Hanuma Vihari-44.4 ov), 5-173 (Rishabh Pant-59.1 ov)

At the Close - India lead Australia by 82 runs with 5 wickets remaining


Playing XIs 

Australia: Joe Burns, Matthew Wade, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Tim Paine (captain & wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India - Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj


Match Details


Start Time: 23:30

Toss: Australia won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Officials: Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Gerard Abood, David Boon

©Cricket World 2020