< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

2nd Test Australia v New Zealand: Large crowd at MCG treated to some great Test cricket

Steve Smith 77* for Australia today

80,473 fans watched Day 1 of the Domain Boxing Day Test between Australia and New Zealand today at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne – the largest ever crowd for a day of Test cricket between the two nations.

Match Summary

Australia 257 - 4 (90 Ovs) – (Marnus Labuschagne 63, Steve Smith 77*; Colin de Grandhomme 2-48)

New Zealand - Still to bat

At the Close of Play on Day 1 - Australia are 257- 4


New Zealand won the toss and decided to field against Australia on day one of the 2nd Test at the MCG. The large Boxing Day crowd was treated to some traditional Test cricket between these two great sporting rivals.

Cricket Australia CEO Kevin Roberts said the huge crowd at the MCG spoke to the popularity and vibrancy of Test cricket in both Australia and New Zealand.

“Thanks so much to the Australian and New Zealand fans who made history at the MCG today,” Roberts said.

“The atmosphere was brilliant from ball one and reflective of the great rivalry between our two nations on the field, and the close relationship we have off it.

“We can’t wait to be back at the MCG on March 8 next year, as we seek to eclipse today’s crowd at the Final of the ICC T20 World Cup Australia 2020 on International Women’s Day.”

David Warner 41, Marnus Labuschagne 63 and  Steven Smith 77* were the run getters for Australia today, but the Kiwi bowlers were the stars with Colin de Grandhomme 2-48 the pick of them.

Honours were even at the close of play on day one with Australia 257- 4.


Player Squads

Australia - David Warner, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade, Travis Head, Tim Paine(c)(wk), James Pattinson, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon

New Zealand - Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling(wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult


Match Details

Start Time: 23:30

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

Officials: Marais Erasmus, Nigel Llong, Aleem Dar, Gerard Abood, Richard Richardson

©Cricket World 2019