< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

2nd Test Day 1 NZ v IND: New Zealand openers escape unscathed after India bowled out for 242

There was a decent partnership between Hanuma Vihari and Pujara but both fell on either side of Tea. Another batting collapse followed with India losing 6 wickets for just 48 runs.

For News, Previews, Predictions, Match Reports, Audio and Videos of the New Zealand vs India Series Click Here

Match Summary: Day 1

Full Scorecard

India 242 (63 Overs; Hanuma Vihari55(70), Prithvi Shaw54(64); Jamieson5/45, Southee2/38)

New Zealand 63-0 (23 Overs; Tom Blundell29(73), Latham27(65); Jadeja0/0, Shami0/17)

At the close - New Zealand trail by 179 runs

As expected, India picked Ravindra Jadeja ahead of Ravichandran Ashwin for his batting acumen and also because the left-arm spinner offers more control. After Ishant Sharma was declared unfit at the eleventh hour, India opted for Umesh Yadav as their third seamer ahead of Navdeep Saini.

New Zealand brought in Neil Wagner in place of Ajaz Patel. The hosts were fortunate with the toss yet again and opted to bowl first.

Indian opener Mayank Agarwal was dismissed in sixth over by Trent Boult. Prithvi Shaw and Cheteshwar Pujara then had a good partnership with Shaw getting dismissed after a free-flowing half-century.

After the quick dismissals of Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane, there was another decent partnership between Hanuma Vihari and Pujara. However, both fell quickly on either side of Tea. Another batting collapse followed for India with them losing 6 wickets for just 48 runs.

Kyle Jamieson justified his selection with a 5-wicket haul. Senior partners Tim Southee and Trent Boult bagged two wickets each to restrict India to 242.

Indian bowlers tried for 23 overs were but were not able to break through with Tom Latham and Tom Blundell batting at the end of the day's play. India were either too short or too ful and would like to hit a consistent length on Day 2.


New Zealand - Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

India - Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match details


Toss - New Zealand won the toss and opt to bowl

Venue - Hagley Oval, Christchurch 

Umpires - Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth 

Third Umpire - Aleem Dar 

Match Referee - Ranjan Madugalle