< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

2nd Test Day 2 Eng v Ind: Test evenly poised as both sides battle for supremacy

England are still 245 runs behind India in the second Test of the five-Test series for the Pataudi Trophy at Lord's Cricket Ground on Friday.

India were earlier bowled out for 364 and in response at stumps England were 119 for three with skipper Joe Root still at the crease with Jonny Bairstow.

Earlier, India started off on the wrong note losing the overnight pair of Lokesh Rahul (129: 250b, 397m, 12x4, 1x6) and Ajinkya Rahane. Thereafter, Rishabh Pant (37) and Ravindra Jadeja (40) shared a 49 run sixth wicket stand which proved to be crucial.

Jadeja then tried to rally the lower order but only Ishant Sharma provided some support. India was finally bowled out for 364. For England the best bowlers were James Anderson (5-62), Ollie Robinson (2-73) and Mark Wood (2-91).

In their response, England began cautiously. But very soon in the post-tea session they lost Dom Sibley and Haseeb Hameed off successive deliveries to be reduced to 23 for two.

Thereafter Rory Burns (49) added 85 runs for the third wicket with skipper Root (49 batting: 75b, 6x4). But Burns fell late in the day to open up the Test.

For India the best bowler was Mohammed Siraj (2-34).

Match Details
India 1st Innings: 364 (126.1)
Fall of wickets: 4-278 (KL Rahul-90.2 ov), 5-282 (Ajinkya Rahane-91.1 ov), 6-331 (Rishabh Pant-109.6 ov), 7-336 (Mohammed Shami-110.5 ov), 8-362 (Ishant Sharma-123.6 ov), 9-364 (Jasprit Bumrah-125.6 ov), 10-364 (Ravindra Jadeja-126.1 ov)

England 1st Innings: 119-3 (45)
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Dom Sibley-14.2 ov), 2-23 (Haseeb Hameed-14.3 ov), 3-108 (Rory Burns-41.2 ov)

Mr KL Rahul addressed a virtual press conference after Day 2 of the second Test against England



End of Day 2: England trail by 245 runs

Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Haseeb Hameed, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Mark Wood, James Anderson

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujuara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Lord's Cricket Ground, London
Start time: 1100 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (TV Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)