< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

2nd Test Day 2 NZ v IND: India concede advantage with late dismissals on oscillating day

16 wickets fell on day two, the most in a single day's play at the Hagley Oval. The last 10 overs yielded just 22 runs and three wickets - Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara and the night watchman Umesh Yadav.

For News, Previews, Predictions, Match Reports, Audio and Videos of the New Zealand vs India Series Click Here

Match Summary: Day 2

Full Scorecard

India 242 (63 Overs; Hanuma Vihari 55(70), Prithvi Shaw 54(64); Jamieson 5/45, Southee2/38) & 90-6 (36 Overs; Pujara24(88), Prithvi Shaw14(24); Boult3/12, de Grandhomme1/3)

New Zealand 235 (73.1 Overs; Latham 52(122), Jamieson49(63); Shami 4/81, Bumrah 3/62)

At the close - India lead by 97 runs

The day began with an Indian fightback as the team, after leading by 179 runs at the end of day 1, wasn't able to to break through the New Zealand batting order, with both Latham and Blundell at the crease for a 63-run partnership.

India stuck early at the beginning of day 2 with quick strikes of Tom Blundell and Kane Williamson. It was a matter of time before Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nichols, BJ Watling and Tim Southee were also dismissed.

But it was the partnership that kept India at bay in the first match between Colin de Grandhomme and Kyle Jamieson that troubled the team again. With good contributions from de Grandhomme, Jamieson and Neil Wagner, New Zealand were able to wipe off the first innings deficit to just 7.

Mohammed Shami was the pick of the bowlers with 4 wickets while Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja shared five wickets between them.

With two new batsmen in Hanuma Vihari and Rishabh Pant at the crease, India are reeling at 94-6 at the end of day 2.



New Zealand - Tom Latham, Tom Blundell, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

India - Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Match details


Toss - New Zealand won the toss and opt to bowl

Venue - Hagley Oval, Christchurch 

Umpires - Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth 

Third Umpire - Aleem Dar 

Match Referee - Ranjan Madugalle


©Cricket World 2020