< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

2nd Test Day 4 Eng v Ind: Moeen casts a spell after Pujara-Rahane stand

India ended the fourth day of the second Test at Lord's ahead by 154 runs against the host England in the five-Test series for the Pataudi Trophy.

On Sunday, India finished on 181 for six still precariously placed after an attritional day of cricket. Finally bad light ended play abruptly, with India still not out of the woods in the Test.

India lost three quick wickets in the first session including openers Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma and captain Virat Kohli thanks to smart bowling by Mark Wood and Sam Curran. Then senior pros Cheteshwar Pujara (45) and Ajinkya Rahane (61: 146b, 238m, 5x4) added 100 runs off 296 balls for the fourth wicket. Their long vigil ensured a wicketless middle session where they kept the rampaging English bowlers at bay.

But in the post tea session, Moeen Ali struck blows dismissing Rahane and then Ravindra Jadeja. India was precariously placed when bad light interview with India still not completely in charge.

For England the key wicket-takers were Wood (3-40) and Ali (2-52). When play resumes on the fifth and final day both sides will have plenty to play for with all three results possible.

Match Details

India 1st Innings: 364 (126.1)
England 1st Innings: 391 (128)

India 2nd Innings: 181-6 (82)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (KL Rahul-9.2 ov), 2-27 (Rohit Sharma-11.6 ov), 3-55 (Virat Kohli-23.1 ov), 4-155 (Cheteshwar Pujara-72.4 ov), 5-167 (Ajinkya Rahane-75.6 ov), 6-175 (Ravindra Jadeja-79.1 ov)

End of Day 4: India leads by 154 runs


Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Haseeb Hameed, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Mark Wood, James Anderson

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujuara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Lord's Cricket Ground, London
Start time: 1100 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (TV Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)