< >
Cricket Betting us

2nd Test Day 5 Eng v Ind: Siraj, Bumrah, Shami script sensational win for India

India scripted a sensational come from behind win to take a 1-0 lead in the five-match Test series for the Pataudi Trophy on Monday. India beat England by a 151-run margin to claim only their third Test win at Lord's. They had previously won in 1986 and 2014.

India began at their overnight score of 181 for six to finally declare on 298 for eight. India captain Virat Kohli set an improbable target of 272 in 60 available overs for England. In response, England was bowled out for 120 in 51.5 overs.

Earlier, India was revived by a sensational ninth wicket stand between Mohammed Shami (56 n.o.: 70b, 116m, 6x4, 1x6) and Jasprit Bumrah (34 n.o.: 64b, 96m, 3x4) worth 89 runs. India were for all purposes dead and gone, but Shami and Bumrah revived the innings.

For England, the key wicket-takers were Mark Wood (3-51), Ollie Robinson (2-45) and Moeen Ali (2-84).

In their response, England lost their top-order to struggle at 44 for three. Then there was a stubborn performance by England captain Joe Root (33). He held the innings together for a while even surviving a dropped chance off Rohit Sharma. But then on either side of tea England lost Jonny Bairstow and Root.

Then Jos Buttler held on first in the company of Moeen Ali and Ollie Robinson. Buttler too survived a dropped chance off Kohli.

Mohammed Siraj struck to remove Buttler and James Anderson to script a sensational win for India with just 49 balls still to be bowled. This was India's only eighth Test win on English soil since their first tour to the country in 1932.

Match Details

India 1st Innings: 364 (126.1)
England 1st Innings: 391 (128)

India 2nd Innings: 298-8 decl (109.3)
Fall of wickets: 4-155 (Cheteshwar Pujara-72.4 ov), 5-167 (Ajinkya Rahane-75.6 ov), 6-175 (Ravindra Jadeja-79.1 ov), 7-194 (Rishabh Pant-85.3 ov), 8-209 (Ishant Sharma-89.3 ov)

England 2nd Innings: 120 (51.5)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Rory Burns-0.3 ov), 2-1 (Dom Sibley-1.4 ov), 3-44 (Haseeb Hameed-15.3 ov), 4-67 (Jonny Bairstow-21.6 ov), 5-67 (Joe Root-22.3 ov), 6-90 (Moeen Ali-38.1 ov), 7-90 (Sam Curran-38.2 ov), 8-120 (Ollie Robinson-50.5 ov), 9-120 (Jos Buttler-51.2 ov), 10-120 (James Anderson-51.5 ov)

End of Test: India win by 151 runs


KL Rahul addressed a virtual press conference after India win the second Test against England at Lord’s, London.

Credit: BCCI

Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Haseeb Hameed, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Mark Wood, James Anderson

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujuara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Lord's Cricket Ground, London
Start time: 1100 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (TV Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)