< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

3rd ODI SL v IND: Fernando, Jayawickrama, Dananjaya star in face-saving win for Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka managed to pull off a three-wicket win over India in the third and final ODI at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Friday.

India were bowled out for 225 in 43.1 overs after opting to bat and in response, Sri Lanka chased down the target in 39 overs to finish on 227 for seven.

Earlier, India made six changes to their playing XI giving as many five debuts to players. India fielded Sanju Samson, Nitish Rana, Krishnappa Gowtham, Rahul Chahar and Chetan Sakariya for the first time ever in ODI cricket. Navdeep Saini too made a return to the ODI playing XI.

India posted 225 thanks to forties by Prithvi Shaw (49), Sanju Samson (46) and Suryakumar Yadav (40). Shaw and Samson added 74 runs for the second wicket which was the highest partnership of the Indian innings. But partnerships dried up after rain halted play and reduced the match to a 47-over-a-side contest.

For Sri Lanka, the wicket-takers were Akila Dananjaya (3-44), Praveen Jayawickrama (3-59) and Dushmantha Chameera (2-55).

In their chase, Sri Lanka was well served by a 109 run second wicket stand between Avishka Fernando (76: 98b, 4x4, 1x6) and Bhanua Rajapaksa (65: 56b, 12x4). Then there were a few wickets which fell and halted the Sri Lankan chase for a bit. But Fernando stayed firm as he guided the middle and lower middle-order to seal a much wanted win for Sri Lanka by five wickets.

For India the key wicket-takers were the debutants Chahar (3-54) and Sakariya (2-32). India tried gamely but dropped too many catches in the field and that hurt their chance in the final ODI.

Match Summary

India 225 (43.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Shikhar Dhawan-2.3 ov), 2-102 (Prithvi Shaw-15.5 ov), 3-118 (Sanju Samson-18.4 ov), 4-157 (Manish Pandey-24.5 ov), 5-179 (Hardik Pandya-28.3 ov), 6-190 (Suryakumar Yadav-30.6 ov), 7-194 (Krishnappa Gowtham-32.3 ov), 8-195 (Nitish Rana-32.5 ov), 9-224 (Rahul Chahar-42.4 ov), 10-225 (Navdeep Saini-43.1 ov)

Sri Lanka 227-7 (39)
Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Minod Bhanuka-5.3 ov), 2-144 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-22.6 ov),  3-151 (Dhananjaya de Silva-24.6 ov), 4-194 (Charith Asalanka-31.6 ov), 5-195 (Dasun Shanaka-32.4 ov), 6-214 (Avishka Fernando-36.2 ov), 7-220 (Chamika Karunaratne-38.4 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by three wickets, India won series 2-1

Player of the Match: Avishka Fernando (Sri Lanka)

Player of the Series: Suryakumar Yadav (India)


Playing XI
Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wicket-keeper), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhanajaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama

India: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Krishnappa Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Match details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Start time: 1500 hrs (local time)
Match officials: Kumar Dharmasena, Ruchira Palliyaguruge (On-field umpires); Raveendra Wimalasiri (TV Umpire);
Prageeth Rambukwella (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)