< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

3rd T20I SL v IND: Hasaranga spins India out to seal series win for Sri Lanka

Sri lanka win by 7 wickets
Sri lanka win by 7 wickets
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte

Sri Lanka snapped a losing streak to claim an important series win over a Covid19 ravaged India by winning the third and final T20 International by seven wickets to win the series 2-1.

India opted to bat and could post only a modest 81 for eight in their 20 overs. In their response, Sri Lanka chased down the target with ease in just 14.3 overs with seven wickets to spare.

Earlier at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, India started disastrously. India were reduced to 25 for four and thereafter it was a struggle because there were no other batsmen in the line-up. Only three batsmen Ruturaj Gaikwad (14), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (16) and Kuldeep Yadav reached double figures. In fact Yadav with 23 not out was the highest scorer in the line-up. For Sri Lanka, the highest wicket-taker was Wanindu Hasaranga (4-9).

Sri Lanka in their chase, lost wickets to leg-spinner Rahul Chahar who ended with figures of three for 15. But the target was too small for India to create any kind of pressure on Sri Lanka. The home team was on 56 for three before Dhananjaya de Silva added 26 runs for the fourth wicket with bowling Hasaranga to seal the chase and series. Sri Lanka finished on 82 for three in 14.3 overs to claim the series.

India made one change to their playing XI, bringing in debutant fast bowler Sandeep Warrier for an injured Navdeep Saini. On the other hand, Sri Lanka played Pathum Nissanka in place of an unfit Isuru Udana.

Match Summary

India: 81-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Shikhar Dhawan-0.4 ov), 2-23 (Devdutt Padikkal-3.6 ov), 3-24 (Sanju Samson-4.4 ov), 4-25 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-4.6 ov), 5-36 (Nitish Rana-8.6 ov), 6-55 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar-14.5 ov), 7-62 (Rahul Chahar-15.6 ov), 8-63 (Varun Chakravarthy-16.4 ov)

Sri Lanka:  82-3 (14.3)

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Avishka Fernando-5.5 ov), 2-35 (Minod Bhanuka-7.6 ov), 3-56 (Sadeera Samarawickrama-11.6 ov)

Result: Sri Lanka won by seven wickets, claim series 2-1


Playing XI

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wicket-keeper), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Ramesh Mendis, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananjaya

India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Nitish Rana, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Warrier, Chetan Sakariya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Rahul Chahar

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Start time: 2000 hrs (Sri Lanka time)
Match officials: Kumar Dharmasena, Ruchira Palliyaguruge (On-field umpires); Lyndon Hannibal (TV Umpire); Prageeth Rambukwella (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)