< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

3rd Test Day 1 Eng v Ind: Hameed, Burns grind India after Anderson & Co cast a spell

England took a total command of the third Test on the very first day at Headingley, Leeds on a day where only a total of 198 runs were scored. England finished the day at 120 for no loss after shooting out India for a mere 78 in just 40.4 overs.

Earlier, India opted to bat and were in trouble from the very first over when they lost Lokesh Rahul in the first over of the Test. The others just fell without any resistance.

The only notable partnership was between Rohit Sharma (19) and Ajinkya Rahane (18) when the pair added 35 runs for the fourth wicket. Apart from that there was nothing forthcoming from the batting line-up. India slipped from 67 for five to 67 for nine in the space of an over.

There were just three batsmen who entered double figures for India. Sharma, Rahane and extras (16) were the only major contributors.

For England the key wicket-takers were James Anderson (3-6), Ollie Robinson (2-16), Sam Curran (2-27) and Craig Overton (3-14).

In their response, England's openers batted resolutely as they added an unbroken 120 runs. Rory Burns (52 batting: 125b, 5x4, 1x6) and Haseeb Hameed (60 batting: 130b, 11x4) were hardly troubled as England went past India with ease to gain a vital 42 runs lead.

None of the Indian bowlers created any impact and they went wicketless.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 78 (40.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (KL Rahul-0.5 ov), 2-4 (Cheteshwar Pujara-4.1 ov), 3-21 (Virat Kohli-10.5 ov), 4-56 (Ajinkya Rahane-25.5 ov), 5-58 (Rishabh Pant-29.1 ov), 6-67 (Rohit Sharma-36.4 ov), 7-67 (Mohammed Shami-36.5 ov), 8-67 (Ravindra Jadeja-37.2 ov), 9-67 (Jasprit Bumrah-37.3 ov), 10-78 (Mohammed Siraj-40.4 ov)

England 1st Innings: 120-0 (42)


End of Day 1:  England leads by 42 runs

Rishabh Pant Indian Cricket Team, addressed a virtual press conference after Day 1 of the third Test against England at Headingley, Leeds. Credit - BCCI

Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Craig Overton, James Anderson

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Headingley, Leeds
Start time: 1100 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Richard Kettleborough (On-field umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Martin Saggers (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)