< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

3rd Test Day 3 ENG v IND: Pujara, Sharma, Kohli lead India's rearguard action

India fought back brilliantly on the third day of the third Test of the five-Test series to set up an interesting couple of days at Headingley, Leeds. At the end of the day, India finished on 215 for two, still 139 runs behind the host, England. So the visitors are still not out of the woods.

The heroes of India's rearguard were Rohit Sharma (59: 156b, 221m, 7x4, 1x6), Cheteshwar Pujara (91 batting: 180b, 15x4) and skipper Virat Kohli (45: 94b, 6x4).

Sharma started off with a 34 run opening stand with KL Rahul. Later Sharma shared 82 runs for the second wicket with Pujara as they played out a wicketless middle session. Later, Pujara added an unbeaten 99 runs for the third wicket with skipper Kohli. India needs a lot of pluck in the next couple of days. The wicket-takers for England were Ollie Robinson (1-40 and Craig Overton (1-35).

Earlier, England lost their last two wickets quite swiftly. They moved from 423 for eight to be finally bowled out for 432. Craig Overton (32) was the ninth man out and later Ollie Robinson was removed quite soon enough.

For India, the best bowlers were Mohammed Shami (4-95), Jasprit Bumrah (2-59), Mohammed Siraj (2-86) and Ravindra Jadeja (2-88).

Match Summary
India 1st Innings: 78 (40.4)

England 1st Innings: 423-8 (129)
Fall of wickets: 9-431 (Craig Overton-131.5 ov), 10-432 (Ollie Robinson-132.2 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 215-2 (80)
Fall of wickets: 1-34 (KL Rahul-18.6 ov), 2-116 (Rohit Sharma-47.4 ov)


End of Day 3:  India trail by 139 runs

Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Craig Overton, James Anderson

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Headingley, Leeds
Start time: 1100 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Richard Kettleborough (On-field umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Martin Saggers (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)