< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

3rd Test Day 3 Eng v Ind: Root grinds India to put England in lead

England took total control of the third Test in the five-Test series for the Pataudi Trophy at the second day's play at Headingley in Leeds. On Thursday, England now leads India by 345 runs as they finished on an impressive 423 for eight when stumps were drawn.

The star of the show for England was their captain Joe Root who made 121 off 165 balls with 14 boundaries. This was Root's successive century in the three Tests of this series. It was also Root's sixth Test century in 2021.

Earlier, England resumed at their overnight score of 120 for no loss. But they lost their openers Rory Burns (61: 153b, 224m, 6x4, 1x6) and Haseeb Hameed (68: 195b, 285m, 12x4) in the first session.

Thereafter, comeback man Dawid Malan (70: 128b, 11x4) added 139 runs for the third wicket. Malan fell right at the stroke of tea.

In the final session England lost five wickets, but they continued to pile up the misery for India. England slipped from 350 for three to 383 for seven. Towards the end, Sam Curran and Craig Overton (24 batting) added 35 runs for the eighth wicket. Curran was the last man to fall in the day.

For India, the key wicket-takers were Mohammed Shami (3-87), Mohammed Siraj (2-86) and Ravindra Jadeja (2-88).

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 78 (40.4)

England 1st Innings: 423-8 (129)
Fall of wickets: 1-135 (Rory Burns-49.6 ov), 2-159 (Haseeb Hameed-62.6 ov), 3-298 (Dawid Malan-93.6 ov), 4-350 (Jonny Bairstow-107.3 ov), 5-360 (Jos Buttler-111.3 ov), 6-383 (Joe Root-117.2 ov), 7-383 (Moeen Ali-118.4 ov), 8-418 (Sam Curran-127.1 ov)


End of Day 2: England leads by 345 runs

Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Craig Overton, James Anderson

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Headingley, Leeds
Start time: 1100 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Richard Kettleborough (On-field umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Martin Saggers (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)