< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

3rd Test Day 4 Eng v Ind: Robinson, Overton blow India away to level series

India's batting collapsed in the face of sustained new-ball bowling by Ollie Robinson as the visitors collapsed to a massive innings defeat in the third Test. The five-Test series is now levelled at 1-1.

On Saturday at Headingley, Leeds, India went from 215 for two to 278 all out in just under an hour as they capitulated without a fight to lose by an innings and 76 runs. With this win, Joe Root has become the most successful Test captain in English cricket history.

India began at their overnight score of 215 for two but lost Cheteshwar Pujara (91) quite swiftly. Thereafter, skipper Virat Kohli (55: 125b, 173m, 8x4) reached his half-century, but soon there was a swift collapse.

India went from 237 for three to 278 all-out. In fact, India lost its last seven wickets in just 54 minutes. Towards the end of the innings, Ravindra Jadeja (30) was the only one who provided any kind of fight. The tail once again did not wag.

In the first innings too India went from 56 for three to 78 all out. India lost their last seven wickets for 63 runs across two innings.

In 554 Tests, there's been only one worse performance for India. At Pune against Australia in 2017 the last seven wickets added just 41 runs in the match.

For England, the best bowlers were Robinson (5-65) and Craig Overton (3-47).

The fourth Test in the series will start on September 2 at The Oval.

Match Summary

India 1st Innings: 78 (40.4)
England 1st Innings: 423-8 (129)

India 2nd Innings: 278 (99.3)
Fall of wickets: 3-215 (Cheteshwar Pujara-83.3 ov), 4-237 (Virat Kohli-89.6 ov), 5-239 (Ajinkya Rahane-90.6 ov), 6-239 (Rishabh Pant-91.5 ov), 7-254 (Mohammed Shami-94.2 ov), 8-257 (Ishant Sharma-95.5 ov), 9-278 (Ravindra Jadeja-99.1 ov), 10-278 (Mohammed Siraj-99.3 ov)

Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Ollie Robinson, Craig Overton, James Anderson

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj


End of Day 4: England won by an innings and 76 runs

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Headingley, Leeds
Start time: 1100 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Richard Kettleborough (On-field umpires); Richard Illingworth (TV Umpire); Martin Saggers (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)