< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

4th Test Day 5 Eng v Ind: Bumrah, Yadav combine to take India to huge win

India registered a comprehensive 157-run win over England in the fourth Test at The Oval to take an unassailable 2-1 lead in the five-Test series for the Pataudi Trophy.

England resuming at their overnight 77 for no loss collapsed from 100 for no loss to be bowled out for 210 on Monday.

Earlier, England lost their overnight opener Rory Burns (50: 125b, 176m, 5x4) first. Later, Dawid Malan was run-out thanks to a confusion with opener Haseeb Hameed (63: 193b, 6x4). For a while, Hameed was holding up India and even survived a dropped chance by Mohammed Siraj off Ravindra Jadeja. At lunch England was 131 for two.

But post lunch the game turned on its head as England lost four wickets for just six runs in six overs. For a while, captain Joe Root held the innings together. But he too fell to Shardul Thakur.

Chris Woakes fell soon after Root and the game was over bar the shouting at tea.

Post tea the English resistance was ended swiftly by India's seamers.

For India the key wicket-takers were Jasprit Bumrah (2-27), Umesh Yadav (3-60), Ravindra Jadeja (2-50) and Shardul Thakur (2-22).

During his devastating spell in the afternoon session, Bumrah also became the quickest Indian to reach his milestone of 100 Test wickets in 24 matches. He beat Kapil Dev who had reached his milestone in 25 Tests. Bumrah had a six over spell which really turned the Test. His figures read six overs, three maidens, two wickets for six runs.

Jasprit Bumrah addressed a virtual press conference after Day 5 of the fourth Test against England at The Oval, London.


The teams now move to Old Trafford, Manchester for the fifth and final Test which starts on September 10.

Match summary

India 1st Innings: 191 (61.3)
England 1st Innings: 290 (84)
India 2nd Innings: 466 (148.2)

England 2nd Innings: 210 (92.2)

Fall of wickets:1-100 (Rory Burns-40.4 ov), 2-120 (Dawid Malan-53.1 ov), 3-141 (Haseeb Hameed-61.3 ov), 4-146 (Ollie Pope-64.5 ov), 5-146 (Jonny Bairstow-66.3 ov), 6-147 (Moeen Ali-67.2 ov), 7-182 (Joe Root-80.1 ov), 8-193 (Chris Woakes-84.1 ov),  9-202 (Craig Overton-88.5 ov), 10-210 (James Anderson-92.2 ov)

End of Test: India won by 158 runs


Playing XI
England: Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (captain), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Craig Overton, Ollie Robinson, James Anderson

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: The Oval, London
Start time: 1100 hrs (UK Time)
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Richard Illingworth (On-field umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Mike Burns (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2021