Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

8th April Start Date For IPL 2015

Praveen Kumar
Praveen Kumar has been released by the Mumbai Indians
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Indian Premier League 2015 will begin on 8th April and the final will be held on 24th May, the tournament's governing council has announced.

And although the trading window for the tournament has been open since 6th October, only a handful of player movements have been confirmed.

The Mumbai Indians have released experienced batsman Michael Hussey and pace bowler Praveen Kumar, adding Unmukt Chand (Rajasthan Royals) and Ranganath Vinay Kumar (Kolkata Knight Riders) to their squad.

Both Hussey and Kumar will be eligible to enter the 2015 player auction.

The trading window will close on 12th December.

Kolkata Knight Riders are the reigning champions, beating Kings XI Punjab in the final earlier this year.

The governing council has also confirmed the dates for the 2016 and 2017 editions of the tournament.

In 2016, it will start on 8th April and end on 29th May and in 2017, the tournament will take place between 5th April and 21st May.

© Cricket World 2014