< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Abhinav Mukund makes comeback into India Test squad

Abhinav Mukund returns to the squad after almost six years
Abhinav Mukund returns to the squad after almost six years

Tamil Nadu opening batsman Abhinav Mukund has been recalled after almost six years in the Indian squad for the one-off Test against Bangladesh which begins on 9th February.

The 27-year-old last played for India against England in Nottingham in August 2011 and has been included in the 16-man squad after he amassed 849 runs from 10 matches at an average of 65.30 and scored four centuries and three fifties as well.

He will be the third opener in the squad apart from Murali Vijay and Lokesh Rahul while Cheteshwar Pujara, skipper Virat Kohli and Karun Nair will form the core of the middle order which also has Ajinkya Rahane returning back from injury.

Ravichandran Ashwin will lead the spin attack along with Ravindra Jadeja while Jayant Yadav, who impressed in the Test series against England along with leg-spinner Amit Mishra provide more than a handy back-up.

Also returning to the squad is wicket-keeper batsman Wriddhiman Saha, who will don the role from Parthiv Patel following his match-winning double century knock in the Irani Cup for the Rest of India team.

There has been no change in the pace department with the selectors preferring Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar while Mohammad Shami is given more time to recover from his leg injury with a crucial four-match Test series against Australia coming up.

Meanwhile, the selectors have also announced the squad for the warm-up game against Australia which will be led by all-rounder Hardik Pandya and has promising young talents from the domestic circuit.

India squad for Test series against Bangladesh:

Virat Kohli, M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Abhinav Mukund, Hardik Pandya

India A squad for warm-up against Australians:

Hardik Pandya (capt), Akhil Herwadkar, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Nadeem, Krishnappa Gowtham, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Ashok Dinda, Mohammed Siraj, Rahul Singh, Baba Indrajith

© Cricket World 2017