< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ACB Name Squad for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022


Kabul, 15 September 2022: Afghanistan Cricket Board today announced its 15-member squad for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022, which will be played in Australia from 16 October to 13 November.

From the 17 players who are part of the Afghanistan Squad for the recently held ACC Men's Asia Cup 2022, Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat and Noor Ahmad have missed out whereas the middle-order batter Darwish Rasooli, the leg-spinning allrounder Qais Ahmad and the right-arm quick Salim Safi have made it to the 15-member cut. In addition, Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah and Gulbadin Naib have been added to the squad as reserves.

Afghanistan Squad for ICC men’s T20 World Cup – Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujib ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi and Usman Ghani. Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah and Gulbadin Naib are the four players, who are part of the team as reserves.

Chief selector Noor Malikzai: “The Asia Cup was a very good opportunity for the team to buildup things nicely for the much-important global event in Australia. Fortunately, Darwish Rasooli has recovered from injury (broken finger) and we are happy to have him available for the WT20, he has demonstrated good glimpses of him in the previously held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and offers an additional batting option to our middle order. Since the Australian conditions are fast bowling friendly, so we have added Salim Safi, the tall right-arm quick to add further impetus to our bowling department. Overall we have picked our best available players for the event and we are hopeful of them to do well and better represent the country in the mega event.”

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

Group A – Sri Lanka, Namibia and Two Qualifiers

Group B – West Indies, Scotland and Two Qualifiers

Group 1 – Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Winner Group A and Runners Group B

Group 2 – India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Winner Group B and Runners Group A


22 October – Afghanistan v England, Perth

26 October – Afghanistan v New Zealand, Melbourne

28 October – Afghanistan v TBA, Melbourne

01 November – Afghanistan v TBA, Brisbane

04 November – Afghanistan v Australia, Adelaide

09-10 November – Semi-Finals 13 November – Final

ICC Ranking