< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Adamstown Cricket Club to be recognised with Special Award on Friday

Adamstown Cricket Club, located in west Dublin, will be recognised with a special Emerging Club of the Year award at the 2018 Turkish Airlines Cricket Ireland Awards on Friday 2 November 2018.

Formally founded in 2009, Adamstown Cricket Club is leading the way in developing and growing the sport of cricket in their local community.

Elaine Nolan, Participation Director for Cricket Ireland, said:

“The nomination for Adamstown was a ringing endorsement of the commitment and achievement of the many volunteers associated with the Club over the last nine years. On the pitch, their teams are competing well in the Cricket Leinster competitions, but it is off the field that the Club is truly making their mark.”

“In terms of player and member size, the Club is one of the largest in Ireland, and put out six teams in open competitions this year, six teams in Cricket Leinster’s youth leagues, and a Girls Minor team.”

“A major achievement this year was also the opening of a new indoor hall with cricket training facilities in the Adamstown community, which was attended by Irish internationals Kevin O’Brien and Isobel Joyce.”

“The Club also states that it is very much at the start of a long-term journey and seeks to establish itself as one of the leading clubs on this island.”

“The entire team running the Club should be very proud of their work and we are delighted to be able to recognise their contribution to cricket in Ireland.”

The Cricket Ireland Awards will be held on Friday 2 November 2018. Photos from the evening and real-time updates will be posted on the Cricket Ireland Twitter account on the day.

The full nominees list for Awards is as follows:

Test Triangle Male Youth International Player of the Year

  *  Neil Rock

  *  Harry Tector

  *  Tim Tector

Devenish Nutrition Female Youth International Player of the Year

  *  Aisling Byrne

  *  Louise Little

  *  Leah Paul

Cricketshop.ie Groundsman of the Year

  *  Philip McCormick

  *  Dale McDonough

  *  Noel McGinnis

Oasis Volunteer of the Year

  *  The Clinton Family, The Hills Cricket Club Leinster

  *  Harry Rutherford, Bready Cricket Club North West

  *  Chris Thomas, Limerick Cricket Club Munster

Shapoorji Pallonji Male Academy Player of the Year

  *  Tyrone Kane

  *  James McCollum

  *  Harry Tector

Shapoorji Pallonji Female Academy Player of the Year

  *  Cara Murray

  *  Lara Maritz

  *  Rebecca Stokell

Frontline Security Official of the Year

  *  Gary Blair

  *  Mary McElwee

  *  Mary Waldron

Toyota Super 3s Player of the Year

  *  Ceclia Joyce

  *  Isobel Joyce

  *  Lara Maritz

O’Neills Male Club Player of the Year

  *  John Anderson

  *  Adam Dennison

  *  Murtaza Sidiqi

O’Neills Female Club Player of the Year

  *  Mollie Devine

  *  Isobel Joyce

  *  Nicky Niblock

Tildenet Club of the Year

  *  Bready CC

  *  Templepatrick CC

  *  Waringstown CC

Hanley Energy Men’s Inter-Provincial Player of the Year

  *  Andrew Balbirnie

  *  George Dockrell

  *  William Porterfield

Sunday Independent Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year

  *  Josh Little

  *  Una Raymond-Hoey

  *  Rebecca Stokell

Hanley Energy Women’s International Player of the Year

  *  Laura Delany

  *  Cecelia Joyce

  *  Gaby Lewis

Turkish Airlines Men’s International Player of the Year

  *  Tim Murtagh

  *  Boyd Rankin

  *  Paul Stirling


The evening will also see a number of Special Awards given to:

  *  Outstanding Contribution and Service to Irish Cricket, in honour of John Wright

  *  Clear Treasury Contribution to Irish Coaching

  *  Cricket Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame Award