< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Adelaide Strikers make three changes for Stars clash - BBL

Travis Head (c)
Travis Head (c)
©Reuters/Craig Brough

The Adelaide Strikers have named Travis Head, Ben Laughlin and Harry Nielsen in a 13-player squad to face the Melbourne Stars at Adelaide Oval on Friday night. 

Head will lead his side for the first time in KFC BBL|08 after returning from Australia’s Domain Test Series against India.
The lethal left-hander last contributed a crucial 140-run partnership with Jake Weatherald which helped bring his side their maiden Big Bash title at Adelaide Oval.
Head will be available for the next two matches before he prepares for Australia’s Test Series against Sri Lanka, the second being Sunday’s match against the Sydney Thunder at Spotless Stadium.
Strikers stalwart Head could become the first BBL player to reach 1,000 runs for the club on Friday, with 988 currently to his name.
Wicketkeeper-batsman Harry Nielsen will take the gloves in place of Alex Carey, who was last month signed as a local replacement player. Nielsen debuted for the Strikers in their thrilling semi-final win against the Melbourne Renegades last season.
Ben Laughlin has also been recalled after he had hamstring soreness which ruled him out of Sunday night’s game against the Sydney Sixers.
Australian vice-captain Carey, Peter Siddle and Billy Stanlake are currently unavailable for selection due to their involvement in the Gillette One-Day International Series against India starting Saturday.


Tomorrow's clash at Adelaide Oval begins at 6:30pm (local), and will be broadcast on Fox Cricket.

  • BBL squad v Melbourne Stars
  • Travis Head (c)
  • Wes Agar
  • Colin Ingram
  • Rashid Khan
  • Ben Laughlin
  • Jake Lehmann
  • Michael Neser
  • Harry Nielsen (wk) (replacement player)
  • Liam O’Connor
  • Matt Short
  • Cameron Valente
  • Jake Weatherald
  • Jon Wells
In: Travis Head, Ben Laughlin, Harry Nielsen
Out: Alex Carey, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake (Australian duties)