Adelaide Strikers Make Two Changes to Squad

Adelaide Strikers Make Two Changes to Squad
Adelaide Strikers Make Two Changes to Squad

The Adelaide Strikers have made two changes to their squad ahead of Thursday night’s must-win match against the Hobart Hurricanes at UTAS Stadium.

Young duo Harry Nielsen and Wes Agar return to the club’s 13-player squad to take on the top-of-the-table Hurricanes in Launceston.

Nielsen, 23, has played two matches this season with his last Big Bash outing coming against the Sydney Thunder at Spotless Stadium earlier this month.

The BBL Technical Committee approved the addition of Nielsen after he last month signed as a replacement player for captain Travis Head, who is in Australia's Domain Test squad.

Right-arm paceman Agar last featured in the Strikers’ 41-run victory over the Stars at Adelaide Oval where he claimed figures of 2/33.

Peter Siddle has re-joined the Australian Test squad ahead of Friday’s second Test against Sri Lanka in Canberra while Matt Short has been squeezed out of the Strikers’ squad.

Adelaide must win its remaining three matches and rely on other results to qualify for BBL finals.

The Strikers will name their final XI at the bat flip before play.

BBL Squad v Hobart Hurricanes

Colin Ingram (c)
Wes Agar
Alex Carey (wk)
Rashid Khan
Ben Laughlin
Jake Lehmann
Michael Neser
Harry Nielsen (replacement player)
Liam O’Connor
Billy Stanlake
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells

In: Harry Nielsen, Wes Agar
Out: Peter Siddle (Australian Test duties), Matt Short (omitted)

© Cricket World 2019