< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Adelaide Strikers through to first rebel WBBL final after beating Perth Scorchers by 8 wickets

Sophie Devine player-of-the-match performance, taking 2/23 and 65* for Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers are through to their first ever rebel WBBL final after defeating the Perth Scorchers at Allan Border Field today by eight wickets.

Match Summary

Adelaide Strikers  130 – 2 (Sophie Devine 65*)

Perth Scorchers 126 – 7 (Georgia Redmayne 51; Sophie Devine 2-23)

Result - Adelaide Strikers won by 8 wickets

Sophie Devine executed yet another player-of-the-match performance, taking 2/23 and compiling an unbeaten 65 from 46 balls.

Strikers captain Suzie Bates won the toss and elected to field, with Devine (2/23) getting the early breakthrough.

Devine took the key wicket of Meg Lanning for one in the second over and by the end of the fifth over, Megan Schutt (2/14) had taken two more.

The Scorchers looked to be in trouble at 3/23, however an 88-run partnership between Georgia Redmayne and Jemma Barsby had Perth back on track.


The Scorchers reached 7/126 in their 20 overs, after a couple of late run outs had the Strikers back on top.

In reply, Bates was run out for one in the second over, however Tahlia McGrath and Devine carried on, building a 79-run stand, before McGrath was caught for 36.

Bridget Patterson (16 not out) provided excellent support, easing the Strikers across the line with 11 balls to spare.

The Strikers will take on the winner of this afternoon's semi between Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Renegades tomorrow from 2:10pm ACDT.

The match can be watched on 7 Mate, Fox Cricket and the Kayo app, while it will also be called live on ABC Grandstand.


Match Details

Adelaide Strikers - Suzie Bates(c), Sophie Devine, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Katie Mack, Amanda Wellington, Tegan McPharlin(wk), Annie O'Neil, Sarah Coyte, Megan Schutt, Alex Price

Perth Scorchers - Nicole Bolton, Meg Lanning(c), Chloe Piparo, Georgia Redmayne(wk), Heather Graham, Jemma Barsby, Mathilda Carmichael, Kim Garth, Samantha Betts, Taneale Peschel, Kath Hempenstall

Start Time: 00:10

Toss: Adelaide Strikers Women won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Allan Border Field, Brisbane

©Cricket World 2019