< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan announce Test and T20I squad, pack the side with spinners

Afghanistan announce Test and T20I squad

Afghanistan have announced their Test and T20I squad for the matches against India and Bangladesh respectively. They have packed the side with spinners, including as many as five spinners.

Afghanistan are on the cusp of creating history. After Ireland recently got the honour of playing its first Test, Afghanistan are lined up next. They will lock horns with India in a one-of Test to be played from June 14 to June 18 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

In the squad that Afghanistan have announced for the Test, they have included as many as five spinners, namely Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Zahir Khan and Hamza Hotak. Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman are coming off extremely successful IPL stints. While Rashid proved to be best bowler for his franchise SunRisers Hyderabad scalping 21 wickets in 17 matches, Mujeeb was unfortunate to miss out few games in the latter part of the tournament, after picking 14 wickets in 11 matches.

Left-arm spinner Hamza Hotak has been included in the side on the back of his stellar first class season where he ended as the leading wicket-taker. Apart from the senior pro Mohammad Nabi, Chinaman bowler Zahir Khan has also been included in the Test squad. Zahir was picked up by the Rajasthan Royals franchise in the IPL but could not take the field due to a shoulder injury.

However, before the one-off Test, Afghanistan are scheduled to play a 3-match T20I series against Bangladesh, beginning from June 3. Afghanistan has announced the squad for the T20I series to be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun in India.

Interestingly, Chief selector Nawroz Mangal has only retained five Test players in the T20I squad.

Test Squad against India

Asghar Stanikzai (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Javed Ahmadi, Ihsanullah Jannat, Rahmat Shah, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Zahir Khan, Hamza Hotak, Syed Ahmad Sherzad, Yamin Ahmadzai, Wafadar Momand and Mujeeb ur Rahman

T20I Squad against Bangladesh

Asghar Stanikzai (c), Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Najeebullah Tarakai, Usman Ghani, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Darwish Rasooli, Mohammad Nabi , Gulbadin Naib, Karim Jannat, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Shapoor Zadran and Aftab Alam

 © Cricket World 2018