< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan Name Squad for Ireland Tour

Afghanistan Name Squad for Ireland Tour
Afghanistan Name Squad for Ireland Tour

Afghanistan Cricket Board selection committee today announced the senior men’s national team squad for the five-match T20I for the Ireland series which will be played in Belfast from August 9 to 17.

The five T20I matches are part of our preparation process for the upcoming events as well as will count towards the ICC T20I Rankings.

ACB Chief Selector Noor Malikzai: “We have had good results in our recent tours, the squad has done well recently and we are looking forward to having good results again in our next series against Ireland. According to Malikzai, Mujeeb’s visa is not yet issued and thus he has been added to reserve players, Once the problem is resolved, he will be included back in the main squad..”

A member of the national selection committee Mr. Mir Mubariz said that they have an eye on the ACC Asia Cup 2022 in UAE and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. “The T20I series is vital in terms of our overall preparations for the mega events upfront”. He added.

T20I Squad (Alphabetic Order)

Mohammad Nabi (C), Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan and Sharafuddin Ashraf. Mujib ur Rahman, Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Usman Ghani are the four players part of the team as reserves.

T20I Series schedule

  • 09 August – 1st T20I, Belfast
  • 11 August – 2nd T20I, Belfast
  • 12 August – 3rd T20I, Belfast
  • 15 August – 4th T20I, Belfast
  • 17 August – 5th T20I, Belfast