< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan name squad for Zimbabwe series

Afghanistan name squad for Zimbabwe series
Asghar Stanikzai will lead Afghanistan against Zimbabwe in UAE.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Afghanistan have named a 21-man squad for One-Day Internationals and Twenty20 Internationals combined for their tour of the United Arab Emirates to play Zimbabwe.

The last encounter between the two teams was in October when Afghanistan managed to beat Zimbabwe in both the ODI and the T20I series.

The two teams will once again face each other at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium for five ODIs and two T20Is between 25th December and 10th January.

Nawaz Khan, who picked a total of nine wickets in his previous two matches for Mis Ainak Region in Afghanistan’s regional four-day tournament is the only uncapped player in the squad.

Apart from the Inclusion of Nawaz, Afghanistan have selected Yamin Ahmadzai, Rokhan Barakzai, Sayed Shirzad and Rahmat Shah.

From the squad that toured Zimbabwe in October this year, Afghanistan have dropped Aftab Alam, Fareed Ahmed and Shapoor Zadran.

In the first round of the 2016 World T20, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe are placed in the Group B alongside Hong Kong and Scotland.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe will miss the services of Sean Williams, who is out with a groin injury. Williams felt the pain since Zimbabwe's tour of Ireland in October and had finally decided to undergo a rehabilitation process.

Afghanistan squad: Asghar Stanikzai (capt), Mohammad Nabi, Nawroz Mangal, Mirwais Ashraf, Samiullah Shenwari, Dawlat Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Shafiqullah, Usman Ghani, Yamin Ahmadzai, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Rashid Khan, Rokhan Barakzai, Amir Hamza, Sayed Shirzad, Karim Sadiq, Nawaz Khan. 

© Cricket World 2015