< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup: Dastagir leads from the front for Helmand

©Cricket World

Helmand Province captain Dastagir Khan starred in a comprehensive win for his side over Balkh Province.


At the Mis Ainak Cricket Ground in Khost, Helmand Province elected to field.  Player of the match Dastagir immediately struck crucial blows as Balkh first collapsed to six for three. Thereafter, Azim Khan (54: 66b, 3x4, 5x6) took charge He shared a 65 run stand for fifth wicket with Mohammad Wasim (85: 91b, 6x4, 6x6). Wasim played a top role in Balkh posting a decent total of 204 in 44.4 overs.

Apart from Dastagir, Ahmad Zia with a spell of three of 67 was the other major wicket-taker along side Nawid Mohammad Kabir (2-8).

In the chase for Helmand, Abdul Nafi (63: 110b, 7x4, 1x6) shared a 118 run second wicket stand with Nazir Ahmad (65: 84b, 6x4, 2x6). The chase went well for Helmand as they finally overhauled the target in 45.4 overs. The only bowler creating any impact for Balkh was Kamil with figures of two for 51.


Match Summary-Balkh Province v Helmand Province, Group A, Afghanistan Provincial Challenge Cup 2020

Scorecard & Stats + Analysis


Balkh Province 204 (44.4)

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Abdul Malik-2.5 ov), 2-1 (Zafar Balkh-3.3 ov), 3-6 (Asadullah Matani-6.2 ov), 4-31 (Abdul Razaq-13.2 ov), 5-96 (Azim Khan-25.2 ov), 6-113 (Abdullah Mazari-28.5 ov), 7-122 (Ibrahim-30.2 ov), 8-156 (Hassan-40.3 ov), 9-156 (Jamshid Khan-40.4 ov), 10-204 (Mohammad Wasim-44.4 ov)


Helmand Province 206-5 (45.4)

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Sharifullah-6.1 ov), 2-141 (Nazir Ahmad-33.2 ov), 3-146 (Rahimullah Sahak-34.4 ov), 4-158 (Abdul Nafi-36.3 ov), 5-165 (Abdul Bari-37.6 ov)


Result-Helmand Province won by five wickets


Playing XIs

Balkh Province: Abdul Malik, Zafar Balkh, Asadullah Matani (captain), Abdul Razaq, Azim Khan, Abdullah Mazari, Ibrahim, Hassan, Jamshid Khan, Mohammad Wasim, Kamil


Helmand Province: Sharifullah, Nazir Ahmad, Rahimullah Sahak, Abdul Nafi, Abdul Bari, Qudratullah, Mohammad Kabir,

Dastagir Khan (captain), Bari Kakar, Nawid Mohammad Kabir, Ahmad Zia

©Cricket World 2020